The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
But it seems to me that generally if you block the kick and then contact the kicker after the block, it's not roughing. Perhaps someone can clarify with an example - I'm having trouble with this one.
In order there to be RTK after a scrimmage kick is blocked/touched near the point of the kick, the defender(s) would pretty much have to renew their direct charge or change direction to initiate contact.


The note from 9.4.5 SIT A covers it pretty well:

The defense is responsible to avoid the kicker holder whenever possible. In any situation, if the defense is to be excused for contacting the kicker/ holder as a result of touching the kick, the ball must be touched near the spot of the kick. A defensive player may not, even after the kick has been touched, stop and then renew his charge into the kicker/holder, nor may he change his direction and charge into the kicker/holder after the ball is touched. Touching the kicked ball is, in itself, not license to charge the kicker/holder. The defensive player will not be penalized if he has made an honest endeavor to block the kick and has either succeeded, or so nearly succeeded that he touched the ball and in so doing finds himself in a position where he cannot avoid contacting the kicker/holder as a result of his effort. The rule does not specify that only the player who touches the kick is excused from contacting the kicker/holder, rather it states, “when the defense touches...”
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2011, 09:57am
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by InsideTheStripe View Post
In order there to be RTK after a scrimmage kick is blocked/touched near the point of the kick, the defender(s) would pretty much have to renew their direct charge or change direction to initiate contact.

The note from 9.4.5 SIT A covers it pretty well:
There is one other case that I've seen. When there are 2 rushers, and one of them is way off track, we've flagged them for RTK. For example, B51 makes a great dive and blocks the kick immediately off the foot. B52 makes a beeline for the kicker, hitting him immediately after the kick. We'd flag B52 for RTK everytime.

Quote:
Originally Posted by InsideTheStripe View Post
The rule does not specify that only the player who touches the kick is excused from contacting the kicker/holder, rather it states, “when the defense touches...”
Well, in some cases, it is hard (impossible?) to excuse any contact on the kicker that isn't in the vicinity of the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High School Pay iowasoftballump Softball 31 Wed Jun 18, 2008 09:06pm
My Old High School Big2Cat Basketball 40 Thu Mar 15, 2007 02:14pm
ASA/High school Chess Ref Softball 2 Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:12am
California High School's Ruling SD Sports Fan Football 7 Mon Nov 10, 2003 12:08pm
How do you become a high school ref? mdm0922 Wrestling 0 Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1