![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
But it seems to me that generally if you block the kick and then contact the kicker after the block, it's not roughing. Perhaps someone can clarify with an example - I'm having trouble with this one.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Then why use it?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Being an official in other sports other than football, it's very obvious to most people in attendance at a sporting event when calls go against the visiting team, thus the phrase "home cooking."
Not only does it make the entire crew look bad, but if officials ARE doing it intentionally then they need to be at home on Friday nights eating their wife's "home cooking." Time to walk away from the game! ![]() |
|
|||
Do you have any evidence that the officials were "favoring" the home team on purpose?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Seeing that and "home cooking" in the same posts just makes me shake my head. We have enough issues with coaches and fans, we don't need to hang our own with circumstantial at best evidence.
![]()
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
The note from 9.4.5 SIT A covers it pretty well: The defense is responsible to avoid the kicker holder whenever possible. In any situation, if the defense is to be excused for contacting the kicker/ holder as a result of touching the kick, the ball must be touched near the spot of the kick. A defensive player may not, even after the kick has been touched, stop and then renew his charge into the kicker/holder, nor may he change his direction and charge into the kicker/holder after the ball is touched. Touching the kicked ball is, in itself, not license to charge the kicker/holder. The defensive player will not be penalized if he has made an honest endeavor to block the kick and has either succeeded, or so nearly succeeded that he touched the ball and in so doing finds himself in a position where he cannot avoid contacting the kicker/holder as a result of his effort. The rule does not specify that only the player who touches the kick is excused from contacting the kicker/holder, rather it states, “when the defense touches...” |
|
|||
Quote:
Well, in some cases, it is hard (impossible?) to excuse any contact on the kicker that isn't in the vicinity of the ball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
High School Pay | iowasoftballump | Softball | 31 | Wed Jun 18, 2008 09:06pm |
My Old High School | Big2Cat | Basketball | 40 | Thu Mar 15, 2007 02:14pm |
ASA/High school | Chess Ref | Softball | 2 | Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:12am |
California High School's Ruling | SD Sports Fan | Football | 7 | Mon Nov 10, 2003 12:08pm |
How do you become a high school ref? | mdm0922 | Wrestling | 0 | Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:02am |