The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Sep 10, 2011, 07:05am
Official Forum Member

PAT scrimmage line

I am new to HS rule set football officiating - I help cach my son's team so I figured it was time to make it official. I don't want to be the coach who doesn't know the rules. I see enough of that in baseball.

The PAT line of scrimmage is a bit confusing to me. I understand we need 7 on the line, but what constitutes the line? In a scrimmage the other day, we were told that only our far wings can be a step behind the rest of the linemen. In another scrimmage, we were told that we can have the end be a step behind his interior teammate and the win can be a step behind him. I have searched for a diagram showing legal and illegal PAT formations but come up dry. I would appreciate any clarification from you. Links to these formations will help me explain it better to my players. Thank you!
Old Sat Sep 10, 2011, 07:15am
Official Forum Member

To be on the line, a player must be facing his opponent's goal line with shoulders parallel to the line, with his head or foot breaking the plane through the snapper's waist (parallel to the line). 2-32-9

Step one for coaches to learn the rules is to learn rule 2.
Old Sat Sep 10, 2011, 08:16am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
To be on the line, a player must be facing his opponent's goal line with shoulders parallel to the line, with his head or foot breaking the plane through the snapper's waist (parallel to the line). 2-32-9

Step one for coaches to learn the rules is to learn rule 2.
Thanks, Mike. I read the rule long ago but see formations that don't comply.