The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2003, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Re: bounces you say ?

Quote:
Originally posted by James Neil
K 4/10 on the R40. K14's punt is rolling near the R10. R26 attempts to block K75. R26 bounces off of K75 and into the football at the R9. K27 recovers the ball at the R7. Clock?

[Edited by James Neil on Jan 10th, 2003 at 09:08 AM]
I've read many of the other posts before replying to this one. I'd say that the ball belongs to K because he was not blocked into the ball by K. This really comes down to semantics. Was R touched/blocked by K or was K touched/blocked by R? Someone posted the rule above and the question we need to ask is, "Was K pushed into the ball by R?" -- Not "Was there any contact between K and R?". In my opinion, the rule is there to prevent K from getting a cheap turnover by pushing an R player into the ball.

I may be way off base here and really looking forward to what everyone else has to say.



__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1