View Single Post
  #89 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 02:46pm
IlliniBob72 IlliniBob72 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
If he is ruled down at the 2 yard line then the ball is dead immediately. There is no running around for 15 seconds or getting tackled. If he does that he would be open for delay of game foul.
That's not true. The play doesn't immediately end when forward progress is stopped. The play is over when the official blows the whistle or the runner is down. If a runner gets to the 35 and is hit, driven backwards to the 32, but still fighting to escape (as every runner should), the official should wait until he feels escape isn't going to happen, and blow the whistle. Forward progress is still the 35.
Reply With Quote