![]() |
|
|||
No I didn't. I provided an example that is contrary to the normal convention. Exactly the same as a ball in possession touching a pylon.
Quote:
You posted an AR that was similar to this situation but not the same. A question for you. Do you consider the pylon as a part of the goal line or the goal line extended?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
Say you have a punt that bounces and crosses the sideline at the B-3 and due to an unusual circumstance (wind, funny spin, etc), the ball comes back and strikes the pylon on the outward face of the pylon. You are going to have a touchback by rule, even though the ball crossed the sideline at the B-3." IOW - 1) A loose ball that goes out of bounds will be spoted at the point where it crosses the sideline. 2) A punt that bounces and crosses the sideline at the B-3 and comes back and strikes the pylon... is a touchback by rule." These statements are contradictory. Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
I'll leave the rest alone for now until I can find that reference. ![]()
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Fair enough. Here's Rule 4.2.3 B and C, which are the relevant rules, I believe.
B: A ball that touches a pylon is out of bounds behind the goal line. (So at the moment this ball hits the pylon, it is out of bounds behind the goal line). C: If a live ball not in player possession crosses a boundary line (like this one did, at the 3) and is THEN declared out of bounds (which happens when it hit the pylon behind the goal line), it is out of bounds at the crossing point.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Continuing with the loose ball discussion:
AR 8-6-1-I I. Team A’s fumble strikes the pylon at the intersection of Team B’s goal line and sideline. RULING: Touchback. Team B’s ball at the 20-yard line (Rule 7-2-4-b).
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Absolutely, but this ball didn't do anything we've been talking about. It doesn't say it went OOB before hitting the pylon.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Ask Tommy, or Pete.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
Quote:
Let me put it this way... if striking the pylon with the ball from ANY direction was enough to create a TD, we would see players trying to tap the ball into the outside edge of the pylon rather than what we actually DO see - which is players trying their best to reach the ball INSIDE the pylon, thus crossing the goalline before going out of bounds by striking the pylon.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
Quote:
I've tried emailing the 2 I know that would KNOW this for sure, but have not gotten responses.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Who wants to draft the e-mail to Rogers Redding? I don't have quite enough pull for that one.
![]() Who is the official chapter rule interpreter or does this go higher to somebody like the district rep?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers Last edited by Welpe; Mon Oct 11, 2010 at 04:25pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ball hits Bat | argodad | Softball | 8 | Mon Oct 11, 2010 02:46pm |
Ball hits player already out of bounds | Coach Bill | Basketball | 23 | Sun Sep 27, 2009 08:59pm |
Bat Hits Ball in Box | Armadillo_Blue | Baseball | 8 | Wed May 23, 2007 09:05am |
batter hits ball after hits ground | kfinucan | Softball | 13 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm |