Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
Fair enough. Here's Rule 4.2.3 B and C, which are the relevant rules, I believe.
B: A ball that touches a pylon is out of bounds behind the goal line. (So at the moment this ball hits the pylon, it is out of bounds behind the goal line).
C: If a live ball not in player possession crosses a boundary line (like this one did, at the 3) and is THEN declared out of bounds (which happens when it hit the pylon behind the goal line), it is out of bounds at the crossing point.
|
Sorry to butt in, but I have a question - in the "OOB behind the goal line" scenario, which happens first? Is the ball OOB and then behind the goal? or is it behind the goal and then OOB? IMO, even if those 2 occurred simultaneously, behind the goal is very important to the discussion. The ball became dead when it was declared OOB behind the goal line. Shouldn't this be a touchback?