Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
IOW - 1) A loose ball that goes out of bounds will be spoted at the point where it crosses the sideline.
2) A punt that bounces and crosses the sideline at the B-3 and comes back and strikes the pylon... is a touchback by rule."
These statements are contradictory.
|
Yes they are, but that's the rule book for you. I see a loose ball that touches the pylon as an exception to the general rule of a ball crossing the sideline plane.
I'll leave the rest alone for now until I can find that reference.