The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 29, 2010, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Under NFHS rules, if it is clear that the player lost possession before the defender initiates the contact at the collar, there is no foul for a horsecollar tackle per se under 9-4-3k because the player was not a runner.

The contact can still be deemed to be unnecessary under 9-4-3g. If the foul occurs while the ball is loose, it is penalized from the basic spot (end of run if fumbled beyond NZ, previous spot if fumbled behind NZ). Team A would retain the ball.

If the ball is recovered by B and the foul occurs after this recovery, B would retain possession and be penalized either from the end of the run or spot of the foul under the all-but-one principle.

Also, if the defender initiates the contact while the runner has possession, the runner subsequently fumbles and then the defender completes the horsecollar tackle, this is a horsecollar tackle under 9-4-3k and would be penalized from the basic spot.
__________________
I'm not getting older...these high school kids just keep getting younger and younger

Last edited by AUgrad2006; Sun Aug 29, 2010 at 09:55pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horsecollar Rule Ref Ump Welsch Football 8 Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1