The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 62
Enforcement question. . .

QB A12 snaps the ball 1st and 10 the B30 yard line. As he is in the pocket B99 grasps but does not twist and facemask of QB A12 and A12 fumbles at the B38 yard line. A64 picks up the fumble and runs to the B25 yard line where he is tackled.

Thoughts -

5 yard facemask penalty with the end of the related run (where QB A12 fumbled).

Basic spot is the end of the related run, where QB A12 fumbled @ the B38 yard line.

Typical enforcement would be 5 yards from the B38 giving A the ball 1st and 13 at the B33 yard line.

If if Team A declines the penalty they have it 2nd and 5 from the B25 yard line, which I am assuming most teams would take over 1st and 13.

So the question is. . . is this a scenario where Team A can decline the yardage option and take the penalty to keep the ball at the B25 yard line but let them have 1st down over instead of 2nd down? Rule references/case plays would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
NFHS 5-2-1: "When a penalty is declined, the number of the next down is the same as if the foul had not occurred."

Thus, the down is only replayed if the penalty yardage is accepted.
__________________
I'm not getting older...these high school kids just keep getting younger and younger
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2010, 05:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 69
I think that since it was a loose ball play (fumble behind the LOS) then the enforcement spot would be the B30. So 1st and 5 if they take the penalty and 2nd and 5 if they decline it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2010, 08:37am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
You are correct tomes, this is a loose ball play since the fumble occurred behind the neutral zone. The basic spot is the previous spot.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2010, 11:34am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by kd0254 View Post
QB A12 snaps the ball 1st and 10 the B30 yard line. As he is in the pocket B99 grasps but does not twist and facemask of QB A12 and A12 fumbles at the B38 yard line. A64 picks up the fumble and runs to the B25 yard line where he is tackled.
CANADIAN RULING:

All facemasks are 15y + AFD. This FM is from either PLS or PBD. Since PBD is beyond PLS, we'll go PBD+15 which gives Team A 1D/G @ B-10.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NF - Enforcement question That Don Guy Football 8 Wed Jul 08, 2009 06:02pm
Enforcement question. Illini_Ref Football 4 Wed Oct 15, 2008 03:01pm
Enforcement Question Zonaman55 Football 14 Thu Oct 05, 2006 09:54pm
Enforcement question tnzebra Football 5 Tue Oct 25, 2005 02:12am
enforcement question? LJUDGE289 Football 3 Wed Sep 17, 2003 06:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1