The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 20, 2010, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Since B got the ball before they fouled they could retain possession if they declined A's facemask foul. However, since B had possesion of the ball in their EZ and fouled there, it would be a safety. Therefore, depending on the score B might want to accept the facemask foul, hence creating a double foul and offsetting and a replay of the down.

Point of discussion: I believe the above is by rule and yet we recently discussed the theory of this (on this forum or another..don't recall)since B did not force the ball into their own EZ then the enforcement spot becomes the 20. In that case they would certianly decline A's facemask and keep the ball after being penalized for the illegal block. 1st and 10 for B on their own 10
I like the 20 yd line being the basic spot in this case...but thats just me...

It is very late here, so correct me if I am a bit sleep deprived
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1