![]() |
|
|
|||
Since B got the ball before they fouled they could retain possession if they declined A's facemask foul. However, since B had possesion of the ball in their EZ and fouled there, it would be a safety. Therefore, depending on the score B might want to accept the facemask foul, hence creating a double foul and offsetting and a replay of the down.
Point of discussion: I believe the above is by rule and yet we recently discussed the theory of this (on this forum or another..don't recall)since B did not force the ball into their own EZ then the enforcement spot becomes the 20. In that case they would certianly decline A's facemask and keep the ball after being penalized for the illegal block. 1st and 10 for B on their own 10 I like the 20 yd line being the basic spot in this case...but thats just me... It is very late here, so correct me if I am a bit sleep deprived ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The fumble happened FIRST, before B's foul in the EZ. So if the ball becomes dead in the EZ we have a TB, and the enforcement spot for fouls by B becomes the 20. Thus, the foul by B in its own EZ is NOT a safety in this case.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by BroKen62; Sat Aug 21, 2010 at 11:19am. |
|
|||
Also interesting is the timing of B's foul. What's the conversation with the referee like if the official who called B2's block in the back wasn't looking at the recovery and couldn't see which came first?
|
|
|||
I would think that the basic spot of enforcement would be the 20, since B recovered the ball in the EZ. Since they also fouled in the EZ however, I believe that the all but one principle would make it a spot foul and a safety if A accepts the block in the back penalty. Depending on the time, score, etc. B may just have to accept A's penalty and cause a double foul so that the down would be replayed.
Both fouls occurred after the change of possession. B could of course decline the penalty for A's face mask, retain the ball, but then it would be a safety because their foul was in the EZ. OK...What I am missing... Jim |
|
|||
You're not missing anything, Jim. This is all but one enforcement. A foul by the offense behind the basic spot is enforced from the spot of the foul.
Now if B fouls before they recover the fumble, then you have a double foul since B did not get the ball with clean hands and the down is replayed with no options given.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
So B would certainly take the A penalty for a double foul and replay the down.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|