![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Luckily, we have rules to tell us whether this airborne player is out. He's not - because he does not fulfill the definition of Out Of Bounds.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
As for your example of a player being FORCED OOB, that is a completely different matter. If you would like an example of how downright stupid your idea is try this; A88 runs OOB and continues behind the team area where he jumps up into the air and, while ariborne, redirects a pass thrown over the team area, to A89 who has never left the field of play, but has wandered 30 yards downfield and catches the redirected pass and advances for a TD. You're going to allow the score? If so that's on you, I'm going to kill the play as an incomplete pass the instant A88 touches the ball behind his team area, and move on to the next down. Good luck with your score. Last edited by ajmc; Thu Aug 05, 2010 at 03:54pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Forgive me, but that conclusion makes absolutely no sense to me, and is contrary to the basic concept of the game being played within the confines of a "field of play". Where does your conclusion, "Any airborne player ANYWHERE is neither in nor out of bounds at that moment." come from? Actually a player who has been inbounds and leaps across the sideline is absolutely considered inbounds until he comes down (or touches something) OOB. I'm not making up a rule, it simply makes common sense to me that when a player has completed the requirements of being OOB (by touching the ground while OOB) he is OOB. As for a player being forced OOB, the rule is that his touching OOB should be ignored if, and when, forced, although he would be required to return inbounds immediately at the first opportunity to regain playing status. Absent being forced OOB, A or K cannot legally participate in play after being OOB and B or R can only participate after returning within the confines of the field. Therefore, what sense does it make, either football sense or common sense, to allow such a player, who has satisfied the requirement of being OOB to participate while he is still beyond the playing field? No, I don't believe I'm "making up a rule", I believe the interpretation suggesting leaping into the air after being OOB, somehow eliminates being OOB is a silly semantic attempt to subvert the practical intent and application of NF:2-29-1. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
just a brain teaser | cmathews | Football | 6 | Tue Sep 16, 2008 05:53am |
brain teaser | Andy | Softball | 14 | Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:26pm |
Slightly OT: Brain Teaser | rotationslim | Basketball | 9 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 06:59am |
Off season brain teaser | FredFan7 | Football | 11 | Thu Mar 09, 2006 06:35pm |
Brain teaser. | Mike Simonds | Football | 4 | Tue Jul 22, 2003 01:34pm |