The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 323
In some places, at JV levels and below, there will be an allowance for some latitude when it comes to proper numbering in certain positions. For the most part schools are able to cover uniform requirements by the rules, but on occasion, you will see that #67 has caught a pass, and you'll wonder from where the player came. I had that happen to me. I was WH in a JV game and a kid has #58 or some such thing and he's caught a pass. I didn't see where he lined up originally so there wasn't much I could say to the coach other than I knew the rules and the consequences and I missed seeing that player's location at the beginning of the play. Looked for him on the next few plays, lined up at tackle on the end. I would like to think the offense's coach didn't try and sneak one past us.
__________________
Be like a duck: cool and calm on the surface but paddling like the devil underneath....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 12:50pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
That's why I think the numbering rules need to be enforced at all levels but the little ones. Eligibility is too important IMO but I do recognize it is a regional thing.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 17, 2010, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
[QUOTE=. Looked for him on the next few plays, lined up at tackle on the end. I would like to think the offense's coach didn't try and sneak one past us.[/QUOTE]

Don't mean to nitpick about semantics, but there's no such thing as
"lining up at tackle on the end", as relates to pass eligibility. Numbering aside, NF:7-5-6 defines eligibility for "A" as players, "at the time of the snap who are on the ends of their scrimmage line or legally behind their scrimmage line..."

Whom ever is on the end of the scrimmage line, including those who would otherwise be classified as tackle, guard or snapper is eligible if they anchor either end of the scrimmage line. Under normal circumstances they most also wear an eleible uniform number. (1-49, 80-99).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2010, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 323
Yes, that is correct. I could have stated that more clearly.
__________________
Be like a duck: cool and calm on the surface but paddling like the devil underneath....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFL jerseys-www.NFL2shop.com nfl2shop Football 0 Mon Jul 05, 2010 06:57am
Changing Jerseys Simbio Football 6 Wed Sep 26, 2007 11:10pm
White Jerseys KingTripleJump Basketball 1 Fri Jan 27, 2006 04:48pm
Jerseys worn outside Self Basketball 19 Fri Jan 13, 2006 01:45am
Tulane Jerseys Nevadaref Basketball 0 Mon Dec 19, 2005 03:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1