The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 09:27pm
Official Forum Member

Need a little help with jerseys

I am not a football ref but have done lots of baseball, softball, and basketball along with a few other gigs in volleyball and soccer,
So, I am not new but I am new to football stuff.
I have a friend whose son has started playing football, first year, JV.

There was a question about jersey numbers, and do they connotate positions, line, back, receivers etc,
I don't have a clue so I knew I needed to come ask you guys.
Also, rules as to proper wearing of the jersey, tucked or ok out etc.

Rules regarding equipment, pads, gloves and helmet, what are they in basic terms for this retired official.

Thanks for the help in advance.
BTW, I have orderd the rulebook and casebook for football from the NFHS but have not gotten them yet
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 10:29pm
Chain of Fools

Eligible receivers (backs and ends) are numbered 1-49 and 80-99. Ineligible numbers are 50-79.

Jerseys longer than the top of the pants must be tucked in.
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member