![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Rule 6-5-3 / Kicks FI-35
VI. Team A’s scrimmage kick is rolling beyond the neutral zone when B17 alerts his teammates to stay away from the ball by a “get away” signal at his waist or below. RULING: Invalid signal. The ball is dead by rule when either team recovers. |
|
|||
|
I thought you were talking about the muff where Clemson recovered and eventually won the game. I did not see this other play. Could you describe the play a little more and what was called?
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
South Carolina player back to receive a scrimmage kick punt on his own 10 yard line. Ball is short of his position, he waives near his waist for his teammates to get away. Ball strikes the ground, he runs over picks it up and begins to run with it. Immediately, the BJ hits the whistles, killing the play. The receiver demonstrates to the BJ his waiving “get away” signal. BJ judge acknowledges the player. Announcers criticize the official says “he gave the get away signal which he is allowed to”.
![]() The receiver advanced the ball about three steps, I know the book says two, but I agree with staying away from a delay foul on R here, he stopped once he heard the whistle. Obviously, the player did not know the rules, which is odd this late in the year. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Fair catch | Refsmitty | Football | 5 | Mon Oct 06, 2008 04:41pm |
| Howard - South Carolina St. (Double violation) | Jay R | Basketball | 3 | Tue Jan 22, 2008 07:01pm |
| south carolina?? | Clint Lawson | Baseball | 15 | Mon Feb 19, 2007 03:35pm |
| Fair Catch | mikesears | Football | 16 | Fri Jun 20, 2003 07:50am |
| Fair Catch | Larry Gonski | Football | 1 | Tue Nov 23, 1999 07:53pm |