![]() |
|
|
|||
NFHS: Where do we put the ball?
4/10 @ K-40.
K1 kicks a short punt that is bouncing and touches R1 at the R-45. The ball bounces back behind the LOS and is recovered by K2 who throws a pass from the K-38 that falls incomplete. |
|
|||
Good one...lets see here:
I am thinking since R touched the ball beyond the LOS we are going to award a new series to k since they recovered it. Also, since the rules prohibit a forward pass after a change of possession (which we have in effect here) we also have an illegal forward pass by K after the COP. Since the loss of down does not apply in this situation (since possession has changed during the play) it will be K's ball 1/10 from their own 33 yd line (after the 5 yard penalty for IFP from the spot of the pass). just edited this... ignore this post...i found a better answer below ;-P Last edited by whitehat; Wed Nov 11, 2009 at 11:00pm. Reason: learned something! |
|
|||
Ok but we don't have a COP per 2-34-3. In order for there to be a COP, there needs to be player possession as defined in 2-34-1. Since R only touched the ball and did not control it, we don't have a COP by definition even though PSK philossophy kind of dictates that intent during a kick. Still, it's not supported by rule. If we don't have a COP, then we can't have an IFP per 7-5-2-a. I agree with everything else you said about the new series.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
The final result? 1st and 10 for K at the K-40. Good luck explaining that one. ![]()
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Just found this sentance in the Redding guide top left of page 63. Its in the context of the same play in the OP but without the pass:
"If the ball remains behind the neutral zone or returns there, either team may advance it (6-2-2 and 6-2-3)." Then an example is given like OP except no pass involved..then next para continues.. "In fact, team K may run, pass or even kick again since team possession has not changed." so, looks like we have an incmplete legal forward pass that is for all practical purposes ignored. we go back to previous spot and award 1/10. Does it seem like to anyone else that the incomplete forward pass is ingored? ...almost like an extra down within a down is inadvertantly awarded.... wierd! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS Ball Mechanics | TXMike | Football | 35 | Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:20am |
Ball unintentionally kicked into DBT - NFHS | kraine27 | Baseball | 8 | Mon May 19, 2008 12:26pm |
NFHS dead ball | shipwreck | Softball | 3 | Mon Aug 28, 2006 08:24am |
NFHS - Lodged ball | Chess Ref | Basketball | 12 | Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:33am |
NFHS Dead Ball Foul after TD | FredFan7 | Football | 2 | Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36am |