![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I agree with welpe. K gets to throw an incomplete pass and get a new series after the down ends. "Change of possession" is defined in Rule 2 and it says that there has to be player possession, which didn't happen in this play.
|
|
|||
|
Welpe had it right. A K does get sort of a free play on this, but they used it unwisely. Let's assume K recovers this ball and instead of passing, they run the ball and pick up 8 yards. They are still going to get a first down, but they managed to advance the ball up to the 48 yard line. The team that tried the pass also gets a first down, but they are still back at the 40 after the incompletion. Both situations give K a "free" shot, but the run is better than a pass.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Yeah, that was funny! I think my mind was fried when I wrote that. Long day at work and this play to think about was too much.
I should have said ineligibles downfield. |
|
|||
|
hmmm....
hmmmm. I can't find anything that says recovery AFTER touching by K behind the neutral zone in my case book. but if I use the logic of 'not advancing a muff' why would we not have K ball 1 and 10 at the spot of recovery since a legal kick has occured? The only snag I see in explaining is the pass was incomplete. had it been complet or he ran, would we not by in the right to rule the play was essentially over when K secured possession? just my opinion....
__________________
That looked just ugly enough to be legal.
|
|
|||
|
I believe Merlin has a vaild point. There would almost certainly have to be ineligibles downfield at that point. If so, and since poessession never changed (no 'clean hands' to think about), the foul would be enforced from the previous spot. Replay of 4th down.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
It will be 1st and 10 for K from K's 35 following penalty enforcement. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NFHS Ball Mechanics | TXMike | Football | 35 | Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:20am |
| Ball unintentionally kicked into DBT - NFHS | kraine27 | Baseball | 8 | Mon May 19, 2008 12:26pm |
| NFHS dead ball | shipwreck | Softball | 3 | Mon Aug 28, 2006 08:24am |
| NFHS - Lodged ball | Chess Ref | Basketball | 12 | Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:33am |
| NFHS Dead Ball Foul after TD | FredFan7 | Football | 2 | Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36am |