The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2009, 11:23am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Weird Freshman Play

I'll try to do the scenario some justice, but if it isn't clear, I'll be happy to make clarifications. The scene:

4th down (and I can't remember how many yards) for A, and they decide to punt. The punter somehow punts it so it never really left the ground, and the ball becomes loose behind the LOS. While the ball is loose, white hat throws a flag for a block in the back on B57, in A's backfield. B recovers the loose ball and gains possession just short of the LOS. Since PSK didn't apply because the kick never went past the LOS, the white hat marked off 10 yards from the spot of the foul and awarded possession to B.

I believe the white hat had it right, even after bringing the whole crew in to figure it out, but wanted to see what comments, if any, folks on the board had. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2009, 01:19pm
MRH MRH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
I'm going to disagree.

The penalty is during a loose ball play and if K accepted the penalty the down is replayed unless penalty enforcement gives them a first down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2009, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Don't ya just love the kicking game!

Unlcear descritption in my mind but here are some things to consider:

If the punter kicked the ball off the ground, (your descriptionis a bit unclear) then we also need to factor in an illegal kick on the play.

If you factor out the illegal kick (not sure if this happened or not from description) then you do as MRH says, penalize the BIB from previous spot.

Since R (B) fouled before gaining possesion they would not get to keep the ball.

Something else to consider. If the BIB was an attempot to push or pull an opponent in an attempt to get at the loose ball then this contact may be legal and not a BIB.

So, in the end, without the illegal kick and without the BIB we may have B ball 1st and 10.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2009, 07:51am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Don't ya just love the kicking game!

Unlcear descritption in my mind but here are some things to consider:

If the punter kicked the ball off the ground, (your descriptionis a bit unclear) then we also need to factor in an illegal kick on the play.
I'll clarify...the punter didn't kick it off the ground. The white hat described it as if the punter kicked it off his toes and the ball went straight down to the ground after it touched his shoe. I couldn't see the whole thing because I was LJ in 4-man crew and was back with the returner about 40 yards downfield.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2009, 08:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
If the punter kicked the ball off the ground, (your description is a bit unclear) then we also need to factor in an illegal kick on the play.

Keep in mind, a drop kick is legal in a scrimmage kick scenario per NFHS rules. (Just throwing this out there...not that that's what happened)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2009, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
I am going to agree with MRH. Foul occurs during a loose ball play and PSK does not apply as the foul is behind the ENZ. Penalty is 10 yards from previous spor and replay the down.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2009, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch View Post
While the ball is loose, white hat throws a flag for a block in the back on B57, in A's backfield. B recovers the loose ball and gains possession just short of the LOS. Since PSK didn't apply because the kick never went past the LOS
The ball has to cross the expanded neutral zone not LOS. The foul must occur beyond the expanded neutral zone not behind the neutral zone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Play gruberted Baseball 8 Sat May 24, 2008 08:33am
weird play yankeesfan Baseball 6 Mon May 01, 2006 08:11pm
Weird Play tnroundballref Football 2 Mon Sep 22, 2003 11:48am
Weird Play nine01c Baseball 10 Wed Sep 17, 2003 11:08am
Weird Play JamieSlick Basketball 15 Wed Feb 28, 2001 03:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1