![]() |
|
|||
Weird Play
Hello there.
Saw this in a 11-12 year old league. Runner of first batter hits a base hit to right. Runner at first goes to second and then heads to third. Ball is thrown in hits off the helmet of the runner and bounces off the fence which is still in play. A coach from the team that was batting picks up the ball and hands it to the third baseman. Umpire calls the runner at third out for coaches interference. What is the correct call? Thanks, Ted |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
apply the "intentional interference by a person authorized to be on the field" rule and do what you think is right. Give the benefit of the doubt to the defense (since the offense erred.) That probably means putting the runners back, unless it was obvious to all that they would have advanced (e.g., BR tries for second on the throw and is one step from the base when the coach picks up the ball)
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Weird play | GrumpUmp | Softball | 3 | Thu Jul 05, 2007 03:35pm |
weird play | yankeesfan | Baseball | 6 | Mon May 01, 2006 08:11pm |
Weird Play | nine01c | Baseball | 10 | Wed Sep 17, 2003 11:08am |
Weird Play | JamieSlick | Basketball | 15 | Wed Feb 28, 2001 03:54pm |
Weird play | Indy_Ref | Basketball | 1 | Tue Jan 11, 2000 02:03pm |