The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1
I think was was the right call. Very strange play, but heads up by the coach to yell at his kid to run. I think it could have gone either way, but I really do think that they made the right call.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
Question for you guys?

Since the kick never crossed the LOS, could Team A have kicked it again?

If so, does it matter that the holder's knee is on the ground?

Thoughts? (Also is Fed different from NCAA on this matter?)
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Official View Post
Question for you guys?

Since the kick never crossed the LOS, could Team A have kicked it again?
NFHS: Yes. In fact, it does not matter whether or not the ball crosses the line of scrimmage or (expanded) neutral zone. If the player is in or behind the neutral zone prior to a change of team possession, he may make a legal kick. (6-2-1)

NCAA: Yes. However, it does matter that the kick did not cross the netural zone, as K cannot advance a scrimmage kick that does, regardless of where they recover it. (6-3-6-a)

Quote:
If so, does it matter that the holder's knee is on the ground?
NFHS: Yes, it does matter. The holder is exempt from 4-2-2a when he catches or recovers the snap with a knee on the ground. After the kick, this exemption no longer applies, because he caught or recovered a kick, not the snap. (4-2-2a, Exception 1)

He may still hold the ball for a second legal place kick, but he may not touch the ground with any part of his person other than his hand or foot.

NCAA: As I read 4-1-3-b, the kicker may put his knee back down as long as a teammate is in position to kick the ball.

I'm no NCAA rules expert, so someone correct me if I'm wrong there.

Last edited by Bullycon; Wed Oct 14, 2009 at 03:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullycon View Post
Yes, it does matter. The holder is exempt from 4-2-2a when he catches or recovers the snap. After the kick, this exemption no longer applies.

He may still hold the ball for a second legal place kick, but he may not touch the ground with any part of his person other than his hand or foot.

NCAA rules are different, I think. I'll have to look those up.
I looked up NCAA Rule 4-1-3-b,

Ball Declared Dead
ARTICLE 3. A live ball becomes dead and an official shall sound his whistle
or declare it dead:
b. When any part of the ball carrier’s body, except his hand or foot, touches
the ground or when the ball carrier is tackled or otherwise falls and loses
possession of the ball as he contacts the ground with any part of his
body, except his hand or foot [Exception: The ball remains alive when
an offensive player has simulated a kick or is in position to kick the ball
held for a place kick by a teammate. The ball may be kicked, passed or
advanced by rule
] (A.R. 4-1-3-I).



I would think if the play in question occurred in a NCAA game, the question of the holder's knee being on the ground would not result in the ball being declared dead...but I could be wrong.
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
So, if the holder's knee is on the ground when he gains control - is the ball dead at this point?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 15, 2009, 04:39am
Seriously Coach?
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 17
I asked on another board, is it a Michigan mechanic to have only the BJ under for scrimmage kick scoring attempts?

The topic was brought up at a local meeting here and the call from Columbus said always two officials on any kick for score, 3pt or PAT.

It looked to me that the crew didn't know what to do. They were content to have the game end after the blocked FG. This a perfect example of why our crew says to each other before any FG attempt, "The ball is live until it crosses the goal line."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 15, 2009, 06:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
So, if the holder's knee is on the ground when he gains control - is the ball dead at this point?
When he gains control of a blocked kick, yes.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 15, 2009, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
When he gains control of a blocked kick, yes.
Just curious, is there a supporting rule for this response?

If the ball did not cross the LOS and the ball can still be kicked, why is the ball dead "when (the holder) gains control of a blocked kick" while his knee is on the ground?
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong Call Rev.Ref63 Basketball 6 Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:21pm
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
What if player tells you your call was wrong? Danny R Baseball 11 Mon May 13, 2002 09:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1