The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Official View Post
Question for you guys?

Since the kick never crossed the LOS, could Team A have kicked it again?
NFHS: Yes. In fact, it does not matter whether or not the ball crosses the line of scrimmage or (expanded) neutral zone. If the player is in or behind the neutral zone prior to a change of team possession, he may make a legal kick. (6-2-1)

NCAA: Yes. However, it does matter that the kick did not cross the netural zone, as K cannot advance a scrimmage kick that does, regardless of where they recover it. (6-3-6-a)

Quote:
If so, does it matter that the holder's knee is on the ground?
NFHS: Yes, it does matter. The holder is exempt from 4-2-2a when he catches or recovers the snap with a knee on the ground. After the kick, this exemption no longer applies, because he caught or recovered a kick, not the snap. (4-2-2a, Exception 1)

He may still hold the ball for a second legal place kick, but he may not touch the ground with any part of his person other than his hand or foot.

NCAA: As I read 4-1-3-b, the kicker may put his knee back down as long as a teammate is in position to kick the ball.

I'm no NCAA rules expert, so someone correct me if I'm wrong there.

Last edited by Bullycon; Wed Oct 14, 2009 at 03:15pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong Call Rev.Ref63 Basketball 6 Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:21pm
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
What if player tells you your call was wrong? Danny R Baseball 11 Mon May 13, 2002 09:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1