The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
My understanding is that if they are in the box 3x4 at the snap, that block would be legal.
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 03:09pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
My understanding is that if they are in the box 3x4 at the snap, that block would be legal.
They both need to be on the line plus the other FBZ requirements.

phansen, if all requirements of the free blocking zone were met, both players were on the line at the snap and the contact was in the zone, you were right. Sounds like you nailed it, despite what the coach thinks (big surprise there).
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 03:12pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
The rule of thumb I use for free blocking zone activity is this (assuming all other FBZ requirements are met):

*An A lineman can clip a B lineman
*An A lineman can block a B lineman below the waist
*A B lineman can block an A lineman below the waist
*An A lineman can block any B player in the back if that player is in the FBZ at the snap.

Notice that there is only one of those things that B is allowed to do.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Where I get confused - help

ART. 5 . . . The free-blocking zone disintegrates and the exception for a player
Rule 2-18 2009 NFHS Football Rules Page 30
to block below the waist and/or the exception for an offensive lineman to clip
and/or block in the back is not to continue after the ball has left the zone.

What exactly is meant by the ball leaving the zone. Once snapped in a shotgun formation - has it left the zone? Once snapped and the QB turns to hand it back to a runner - has it left the zone?
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 03:54pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Once the ball is no longer in the free blocking zone, the zone disintergrates for the down. Even if the ball leaves for a second. Yes you are correct that on a snap that goes outside the zone, the zone is gone.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
What exactly is meant by the ball leaving the zone. Once snapped in a shotgun formation - has it left the zone? Once snapped and the QB turns to hand it back to a runner - has it left the zone?
It means the actual position of the ball w.r.t. the FBZ. However, some state assocs. have adopted interpret'ns deeming an immediate block whose motion begins at the snap to beat the snap's leaving the FBZ, and IIRC at least one state deems the snap's leaving the FBZ to beat all contact.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
It means the actual position of the ball w.r.t. the FBZ. However, some state assocs. have adopted interpret'ns deeming an immediate block whose motion begins at the snap to beat the snap's leaving the FBZ, and IIRC at least one state deems the snap's leaving the FBZ to beat all contact.
The case book also supports this interpretation so it's not just a state thing. I always tell linemen if they are in shotgun formation, there had better not be any delay in a cut block if they want to do it legally. It's usually not a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 07, 2009, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
The case book also supports this interpretation
"This interpretation"? I gave two, the opposite of each other.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
The rule of thumb I use for free blocking zone activity is this (assuming all other FBZ requirements are met):

*An A lineman can clip a B lineman
*An A lineman can block a B lineman below the waist
*A B lineman can block an A lineman below the waist
*An A lineman can block any B player in the back if that player is in the FBZ at the snap.

Notice that there is only one of those things that B is allowed to do.


Welpe

where does it say that B can't block in the back or clip an A lineman if all conditions of the FBZ are met?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansen View Post
Welpe

where does it say that B can't block in the back or clip an A lineman if all conditions of the FBZ are met?
read the definitions under Free Blocking Zone.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
read the definitions under Free Blocking Zone.
Thank you

I learned something new today
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 01:47pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
read the definitions under Free Blocking Zone.
What Mike said. Rule 2.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA - Block Below Waist keremates Football 1 Mon Oct 27, 2003 09:09am
continuation block/below the waist cowbyfan1 Football 9 Sun Oct 26, 2003 10:40pm
Block below the waist... Mike Simonds Football 2 Wed Oct 30, 2002 10:18am
Block below the waist 2 WVREF Football 3 Wed Oct 02, 2002 02:59am
block below the waist???? JimNayzium Football 11 Thu Sep 26, 2002 02:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1