The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2002, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 43
This is more a question on philosophy than strict rules interpretation. Discussion involved following play. QB A7 in shotgun formation 5 yards behind line of scrimmage. At snap guard A76 blocks defensive lineman below waist. He does this on initial charge, he doesn't retreat one step and then throw block. Because on this play the ball is out of the free blocking zone almost instantly some felt this block would be illegal unless the guard is extremely quick. Others felt that in spirit of rules this would be legal as long as it was on initial charge with no delay. Opinions please?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1