The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to MI Official Send a message via Skype™ to MI Official
Yes, fumble into the endzone. But it wasnt declared dead with no team in possession, its not a kick, and it wasnt airborne. Nor, IMO, was the original force sufficient to make the ball go out the back of the endzone.

I defintely see that a new force was exerted, albeit in the general direction of the original force.

Again, if it were a punt and B touched and thus rolled into Rs EZ with possession would we not consider this a new force and put it into play at the 20 even if we knew the ball' s original force would have resulted in a dead ball in the field of play? because it is a grounded kick, fumble, or backwards pass.
__________________
That looked just ugly enough to be legal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
2-13-2: Responsibility for forcing the ball from the field of play across a
goal line is attributed to the player who carries, snaps, passes, fumbles or kicks the ball, unless a new force is applied to either a backward pass, kick or fumble that has been grounded.
A4 fumbled. The ball rolls, without a new force, across A's goal line. Thus, A4's fumble is the force that causes the ball to cross the goal line.

Quote:
8-5-2: It is a safety when:
b. A player who is either in the field of play or in his end zone, forces a loose ball from the field of play to or across his goal line by his kick, pass, fumble, snap or by a new force to a grounded loose ball with his muff or bat or illegal kick (when the penalty is declined), provided the ball becomes dead there in his team's possession (including when the ball is declared dead with no player in possession), or the ball is out of bounds when it becomes dead on or behind their goal line. This does not apply to a legal forward pass which becomes incomplete.
A4 forced the ball across his goal line. The ball was out of bounds behind their goal line. It is a safety.

There is no force after the ball has crossed the goal line. A4 is permanently responsible for the ball being in the end zone until the ball leaves the end zone and returns to the field of play.


Trap, in regard to your scenario, you are correct.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by MI Official View Post
Yes, fumble into the endzone. But it wasnt declared dead with no team in possession, its not a kick, and it wasnt airborne. Nor, IMO, was the original force sufficient to make the ball go out the back of the endzone.

I defintely see that a new force was exerted, albeit in the general direction of the original force.

Again, if it were a punt and B touched and thus rolled into Rs EZ with possession would we not consider this a new force and put it into play at the 20 even if we knew the ball' s original force would have resulted in a dead ball in the field of play? because it is a grounded kick, fumble, or backwards pass.
Force only counts from the field of play across the goal line. Once it crosses the goal line the force has been determined and it will either be a safety or a TB. In the video it's A's fumble that causes it to cross the GL, therefore it's going to be a safety no matter what B does to it AFTER it crossed the GL.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 63
Many of you seem to be upset that B is at an advantage because all they have to do is get the ball out of the back of the end zone for this play to be ruled a safety.

A fumbled so A was responsible for putting it across his own goal line. Now that it is there, B76's muff is irrelevant because the ball was already in the end zone.

Since this is a grounded fumble, B is still prohibited from batting or kicking the ball out of the back of the end zone. If a player of B commits one of these fouls then A will have the option of taking the result of the play (a safety), or enforcing a 15 yard penalty on B from the previous spot.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
In the video it's A's fumble that causes it to cross the GL, therefore it's going to be a safety no matter what B does to it AFTER it crossed the GL.
Are you sure? What if B recovers it after it enters the EZ?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2009, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Are you sure? What if B recovers it after it enters the EZ?
I was referring to the video.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 06:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
I was referring to the video.
OK. And you said "no matter what," which encompasses all possibilities. And there's another possibility besides safety on this play.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to MI Official Send a message via Skype™ to MI Official
So after reading the replies ( all good btw, that is why I use this forum)

It appears that once a ball has crossed a goal line, regardless of any subsequent action(s) it has to be a safety or TD??????
__________________
That looked just ugly enough to be legal.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 08:46am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by MI Official View Post

It appears that once a ball has crossed a goal line, regardless of any subsequent action(s) it has to be a safety or TD??????
In this case, yes. Well, A could also recover and run it out of the endzone.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2009, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
OK. And you said "no matter what," which encompasses all possibilities. And there's another possibility besides safety on this play.
I understand your point. However, I am referring to what happened in the video, not what could have happened.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BOO - Force out JPaco54 Baseball 12 Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:40pm
Force Out(s)? Blackie Softball 7 Thu Oct 25, 2007 03:26pm
Force or no Force? HEYBLUE11 Softball 4 Fri Oct 05, 2007 04:21pm
Force out benbret Softball 2 Sat Apr 15, 2006 07:50am
Force Out rickbeauv Softball 22 Tue Jun 24, 2003 04:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1