![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Contact with the kick receiver simultaneous to his contact with the punt is KCI as this is an interference with the opportunity to make the catch, it does not matter if R ends up with a catch or not. If he completes the catch and then is contacted, no foul for KCI, but if he his hit before he has the opportunity to complete the catch then I've got KCI.
touching always precedes possession, and touching vacates the KCI, but I believe that if they are simultaneous we've got a foul. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But that contradicts what you've said in your second paragraph: it is possible to have KCI if R touches the ball, and even if R catches the ball, if the contact occurs before the catch is complete. The case play ruling introduces the standard of an "unmolested opportunity to catch the ball." K can interfere with that opportunity and yet R somehow still catches the ball. Just as in baseball, a runner can interfere with a fielder yet the fielder might still make the play. Merely making the play does not mean there was no interference.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I will add that the opportunity for a catch has ended once R muffs the kick. That would explain why contacting the R player after a muff is not KCI.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
"After the kick has been touched by a receiver" means "after the kick has been touched by a receiver." Touched is touched. Once he touches it there cannot be KCI. I don't like the rule, but there are several NF rules I don't like.
|
|
|||
|
Are you suggesting it's humanly possible to differentiate between touching and completing a (clean) catch (non bobble, non-muff, non-tipped)?
|
|
|||
|
Simultaneous or nearly simultaneous contact should be KCI. R is entitled to an "unimpeded opportunity to CATCH the kick." NCAA 6-4-1 (emphasis added). "Catch" is defined as "POSSESSION of a live ball in flight." 2-7-a-1 (emphasis added). "A player gains possession when he secures the ball by holding or controlling it while contacting the ground." 2-2-5-a
Thus, the opportunity to catch the kick that R is entitled to includes the opportunity to secure or control the ball while contacting the ground. Simultaneous or near simultaneous contact does not permit the opportunity to catch the kick. |
|
|||
|
You may choose to ignore the case play that I cited, which has the force of a rule. As I've said, our state interpreter made clear that the operative test of KCI is an "unmolested opportunity to catch the ball," and his examples were as I've described.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
I'm not ignoring it. The casebook example you cite is a K player obstructing R's path to the ball. That's the context in which the "unmolested opportunity" statement is made. Our state rules interpreter, and all the chapter rules interpreters I know, say this is not KCI. I thought this was pretty settled case law in HS. Also read the statement in the casebook that says if the casebook conflicts with the rule book, the rule book trumps.
|
|
|||
|
Let's not forget that this is a Federation rule that is predicated upon maintaining some measurable degree of safety in a highly dangerous sport. Why pick at the edges. Just because the receivers skill level (or luck) allowed him to complete the catch of the kick does not mean we give K the right to endanger them and give them a "pass" on the KCI foul when they have hit R prior to completing the catch.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Kick Catch Interference in Kentucky/Louisville Game | Fan10 | Football | 2 | Mon Sep 01, 2008 06:49am |
| Auburn/Florida Kick Catch Interference | Fan10 | Football | 8 | Thu Oct 04, 2007 05:52am |
| Kick Catch Interference | Suudy | Football | 12 | Mon Oct 02, 2006 06:12pm |
| kick catch interference | Ranger23 | Football | 1 | Fri Mar 18, 2005 08:34pm |
| kick catch interference | yankeesfan | Football | 4 | Tue Sep 07, 2004 09:07am |