The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Your first paragraph describes exactly how we've been instructed in Ohio.

But that contradicts what you've said in your second paragraph: it is possible to have KCI if R touches the ball, and even if R catches the ball, if the contact occurs before the catch is complete.

The case play ruling introduces the standard of an "unmolested opportunity to catch the ball." K can interfere with that opportunity and yet R somehow still catches the ball.

Just as in baseball, a runner can interfere with a fielder yet the fielder might still make the play. Merely making the play does not mean there was no interference.
I see how there could be a contradiction, I was referring to a case where R muffs the kick and then is contacted before completing the catch. The ball bounces off of his shoulder pads and then he gets contacted. Judgment by the official determines if there was interference or not. "Simultaneous" contact would be interference, contact after a muff is not. Thats what I was trying to say.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. View Post
I see how there could be a contradiction, I was referring to a case where R muffs the kick and then is contacted before completing the catch. The ball bounces off of his shoulder pads and then he gets contacted. Judgment by the official determines if there was interference or not. "Simultaneous" contact would be interference, contact after a muff is not. Thats what I was trying to say.
Gotcha. I wasn't thinking of a muff. Good point.

I will add that the opportunity for a catch has ended once R muffs the kick. That would explain why contacting the R player after a muff is not KCI.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
"After the kick has been touched by a receiver" means "after the kick has been touched by a receiver." Touched is touched. Once he touches it there cannot be KCI. I don't like the rule, but there are several NF rules I don't like.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref1986 View Post
"After the kick has been touched by a receiver" means "after the kick has been touched by a receiver." Touched is touched. Once he touches it there cannot be KCI. I don't like the rule, but there are several NF rules I don't like.
Are you suggesting it's humanly possible to differentiate between touching and completing a (clean) catch (non bobble, non-muff, non-tipped)?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
Simultaneous or nearly simultaneous contact should be KCI. R is entitled to an "unimpeded opportunity to CATCH the kick." NCAA 6-4-1 (emphasis added). "Catch" is defined as "POSSESSION of a live ball in flight." 2-7-a-1 (emphasis added). "A player gains possession when he secures the ball by holding or controlling it while contacting the ground." 2-2-5-a

Thus, the opportunity to catch the kick that R is entitled to includes the opportunity to secure or control the ball while contacting the ground. Simultaneous or near simultaneous contact does not permit the opportunity to catch the kick.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref1986 View Post
"After the kick has been touched by a receiver" means "after the kick has been touched by a receiver." Touched is touched. Once he touches it there cannot be KCI. I don't like the rule, but there are several NF rules I don't like.
You may choose to ignore the case play that I cited, which has the force of a rule. As I've said, our state interpreter made clear that the operative test of KCI is an "unmolested opportunity to catch the ball," and his examples were as I've described.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
and since there is no clear rule, no two crews call it the same and there in lies the lack of consistency that I hate about HS officiating!

It should be called the same in every game!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Ref1986 is right on the money for NFHS rules. Once R touches the kick, KCI no longer applies. If he wants protection from contact, he can signal for a fair catch. But if he wants the opportunity advance, he takes the risk of being contacted after he touches the ball.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
and since there is no clear rule, no two crews call it the same and there in lies the lack of consistency that I hate about HS officiating! It should be called the same in every game!
This rule is only unclear, if you want to be unclear. Unless you have some super human visual blessing that allows you split this gnat's eyelash to the extent you can separate the initial touching of a kick from the (clean)catching of that kick you're just blowing smoke.

As soon as HS teams reach a level of playing the exact same in every game, we'll be able to officiate exactly the same, but not until.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 09, 2009, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
and since there is no clear rule, no two crews call it the same and there in lies the lack of consistency that I hate about HS officiating!

It should be called the same in every game!
Can we also put in their NFL officiating and NCAA officiating? At every level there is going to be a lack of consistency in calling certain plays. If that is something that you truly hate maybe a change in your profession is in order. I can't think of any high school level officials who decide that no matter what they are going to try and be different than the crew the previous week. If the quality of officiating is that poor maybe you should switch sides and make it better.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 09, 2009, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 96
I think Insatty hit the nail on the head here. When in doubt go back to the definitiions. A kick ends when a player gains possession or when the ball becomes dead while not in player possession.

Possession says the player must control it. Thus touching can not be possessing and the kick can not have ended.

We should not allow the K player the free shot on the R player. Yes, it is a very impressive hit and will draw plenty of "oohs" and "aaaahs" from the crowd.

I would call it KCI.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
You may choose to ignore the case play that I cited, which has the force of a rule. As I've said, our state interpreter made clear that the operative test of KCI is an "unmolested opportunity to catch the ball," and his examples were as I've described.
I'm not ignoring it. The casebook example you cite is a K player obstructing R's path to the ball. That's the context in which the "unmolested opportunity" statement is made. Our state rules interpreter, and all the chapter rules interpreters I know, say this is not KCI. I thought this was pretty settled case law in HS. Also read the statement in the casebook that says if the casebook conflicts with the rule book, the rule book trumps.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 08:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Pass interference protection ends when the ball is touched by or touches a player, and it seems likely the rules that were adopted for kicks and passes intended the same thing. Of course you never know when some years separate the adoption of the provisions, the example being in the other thread of the non-expanded neutral zone for purposes of determining whether R has touched a field goal attempt on their side of their line of scrimmage.

In NFL rules (probably an older wording of NCAA rules) the protection is described as "opportunity to make a fair catch", assuming the fiction that the receiver might up until the last instant be able to signal for one.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 09, 2009, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Let's not forget that this is a Federation rule that is predicated upon maintaining some measurable degree of safety in a highly dangerous sport. Why pick at the edges. Just because the receivers skill level (or luck) allowed him to complete the catch of the kick does not mean we give K the right to endanger them and give them a "pass" on the KCI foul when they have hit R prior to completing the catch.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 09, 2009, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
Even under NFHS rules, K may not touch the ball or R "while the kick is in flight." A kick ends when R gains "possession" of the ball. Player "possession" is defined as the player "holding or controlling" the ball.

Thus, K may not touch R until R holds or controls the ball. For consistency and safety, NFHS officials should officiate KCI as NCAA officials do. A defenseless R should not be clocked until he has the chance to touch, secure, and then control the ball. Only then may R protect himself from oncoming tacklers.

As the NCAA rule expresses, when in doubt it is KCI.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kick Catch Interference in Kentucky/Louisville Game Fan10 Football 2 Mon Sep 01, 2008 06:49am
Auburn/Florida Kick Catch Interference Fan10 Football 8 Thu Oct 04, 2007 05:52am
Kick Catch Interference Suudy Football 12 Mon Oct 02, 2006 06:12pm
kick catch interference Ranger23 Football 1 Fri Mar 18, 2005 08:34pm
kick catch interference yankeesfan Football 4 Tue Sep 07, 2004 09:07am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1