The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 12:54am
Official Forum Member

Seeing the penaltys

I had my first 3 games today. A little shaky for sure and im still learning the proper mechanics, rules, signals etc. What gets me ,though, is how the veteran guys can so easily see a penalty that I never saw! A block in the back or a hold, they recognize it so easily. I understand that im working with officials that have a lot more experience then me but im working Midget games it shouldnt be so difficult right? I mean if midget football moves to fast for me then how will I do when I get to the Varsity level?

Anyway I was wondering about advice for a new official. Was it like that for you to and over time and through experience things slowed down and became easier? Its kinda overwhelming when a play develops my way like im trying to hard to see everything. Any advice would be helpful and much appreciated.
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 04:42am
Official Forum Member

Anything worth doing.....blah, blah, blah.

Of course it's hard. If it wasn't, blah, blah, blah.

You just have to see a lot of snaps. See as many as you can, blah, blah. blah.

Work on one or two things each game. Concentrate on working on those two things and keep working on them untill you got them down. Then work on two other things......

Which two things do you work on? I always sit down after a game and write down everything I can remember about the game. It becomes pretty easy to see what you want (need) to work on.

I'd write more, but I'm sure that a lot of other people will be checking in with a lot of good advice.
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 05:39am
Chain of Fools

Snaps- he's right. There's no substitute.