![]() |
|
|
|||
Of course it influences whether a call is made or not!!!
Safety related fouls are called no matter where they happen on the field. Non-safety related fouls are usually called only at the point of attack and if they actually did something to gain an unfair advantage. Or do you call holds that occur on the opposite side of the play? The debate is, is a BIB a safety related foul?
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
Thanks for clearing that up for me. It sounds like since some do not view it as a safety issue, that it shouldn't be called as much.
I believe it is a safety-related foul, depending on the severity of it. e.g., if I see a BIB that is a push in the back away from the play, I am not calling it. That is a #3 above. If the guy flattens the other guy with a BIB, even if it is away from the play, it is a #1 above. If a guy pushes the opponent in the back and it affects the play, I am calling it. And...it is not an offense v. defense case as I have called BIB on the defense before. IMHO, it IS a safety issue and the guy who got flattened was no longer safe on the field regardless of where it occurred. |
|
|||
As was said in the other thread, BIB should be flagged if it occurs:
(a) at the point of attack, no matter how severe, since it then confers an unfair advantage, or (b) when it rises to the level of a PF, no matter where it occurs, since it then becomes a safety issue. That makes sense to me. Notice that these two principles are quite different: one doesn't care how severe it is, the other doesn't care where it occurs. BIB can be called on grounds of safety (which is always important), but the foul is defined independently of that concern.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Assuming the official beleived the contact was aggressive and unnecessary, is the ruling a BIB with a 10 yard penalty or can you have some type of personal foul penalty with a 15 yard penalty? In either case what is the spot of enforcement? Is the TD disallowed? Interested in both NF and NCAA rules.... Thanks!
__________________
Da Official |
|
|||
I agree with Lord Byron, that is a personal foul for unecessary roughness, hitting somebody obviously out of the play. This is for NFHS...don't have the exact rule number handy as my books are all packed.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Safety or No Safety that is the question | BrasoFuerte | Football | 14 | Sun Sep 02, 2007 05:15pm |
Safety on a try | Dist8Ref | Football | 26 | Sun Jul 15, 2007 07:09pm |
TB, Safety, or??? | ljudge | Football | 9 | Mon Dec 06, 2004 09:21pm |
Safety (try) | cowbyfan1 | Football | 11 | Mon Aug 30, 2004 05:56am |
Safety? | tchaap | Football | 5 | Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:44am |