![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
|
ok I think im starting to get it. Thank you guys for clarifying what an "End" is. Now that its clear that the two ends are eligible by position, is EVERYONE who is a back eligible by position as well?
Also, If I see an ineligible downfield on pass where would I throw the flag and how would it be enforced? and If that ineligible reciever caught the pass does the ineligible downfield on pass penalty convert to illegal touching or is the opposing team givin the option? Last edited by Brandon Kincer; Sun May 10, 2009 at 10:57am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The first thing you want to be sure of, is that the pass is thrown and actually crosses the LOS. If a lineman has just wandered too far and is not affecting the play or actively blocking you may decide to simply mention something to him. If he is involving himself as a blocker, and he was down field BEFORE the pass was thrown, beyond the NZ, a penalty is likely in order. Yes Illegal touching (formerly OPI) would be the second penalty he has commited. Illegal touching is a more severe penalty, adding Loss of down, to the 5 yd distance penalty for either foul, so it, alone, would be the infraction you report. When you observe a player with an eligible # out flanked by another player with an eligible #, the inside player bears watching. As often as not, there's a good chance that the outside player lined up wrong, rendering the inside player INeligible, which the inside player may well not realize. (Make a mental note of the outside player's # as you may be asked for it). If the inside player goes downfield for a pass, he's an ineligible downfield, and if he touches the ball it's Illegal touching. All the while he (and his coach) may have intended him to be eligible and only the action of his teammate took that status away from him, which neither player or coach may be totally unaware of. Being prepared to inform the referee you have a foul against ineliible # XX, because he was covred by # YY can eliminate a lot of questioning. If there is no forward pass, there's no foul and both offensive players are entitled to go downfield. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But on the general subject of getting flags to a spot on the field.... I dont want my own newer guys wasting time by thinking about whether a particular foul requires a spot or not, so I try to encourage officials to always throw the flag toward the spot of the foul. Of course by that I mean toward the yard line of the foul first and foremost. Left or right across the field is not so important - having that too is a bonus. Of course it helps to sell the call when a flag is in the general area of the foul. I've seen officials spend all their energy in throwing a flag 25 yds across the field and then have to go move it because it wasn't on the correct yardline. Common sense says aim for the correct yardline.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ineligible Down Field | F C E | Football | 11 | Wed Oct 24, 2007 02:08pm |
| Ineligible or Not? | Simbio | Football | 4 | Wed Sep 26, 2007 05:41pm |
| Eligible/Ineligible? | WyMike | Football | 19 | Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:43pm |
| Ineligible downfield / OPI | Wes | Football | 10 | Wed Oct 13, 2004 09:45am |
| Eligible or ineligible receiver | Derock1986 | Football | 18 | Thu Dec 05, 2002 03:04am |