The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simbio View Post
If the center was the last man on the end of the line, wearing an eligible number, can he be eligible for a pass?
If he's on the end of the line and wearing an eligible number, he is an eligible receiver whether he's the snapper or not. If he's on the end of the line, how could he be the center of anything? Forget the "coach speak" of the word center.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 19, 2009, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
If I understand the new numbering exception rules, this would be a foul at the snap if the snapper is under the exception rule. The snapper must be between the ends. Some variations of the old swinging gate may become illegal. I’ll be interested to see how shifts might affect eligibility in this set.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Last edited by dumbref; Sun Apr 19, 2009 at 04:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref View Post
If I understand the new numbering exception rules, this would be a foul at the snap if the snapper is under the exception rule. The snapper must be between the ends. Some variations of the old swinging gate may become illegal. I’ll be interested to see how shifts might affect eligibility in this set.
Where do you come up with the "snapper must be between the ends?"
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Where do you come up with the "snapper must be between the ends?"
I know it’s a dangerous source – Referee Magazine.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 21, 2009, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref View Post
I know it’s a dangerous source – Referee Magazine.
or a coach...or a father...or a fan...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 21, 2009, 08:54am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
or a coach...or a father...or a fan...
or the Saturday morning armchair "referee" reading the ucking flocal newspaper and reading too much into everything about the game he saw the night before.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 21, 2009, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
or a coach...or a father...or a fan...
This is how the Referee article reads:

“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”

This seemed very specific and creditable as opposed to some of their interpretations. I’ll let you decide
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 21, 2009, 10:35am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref View Post
This is how the Referee article reads:

“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”

This seemed very specific and creditable as opposed to some of their interpretations. I’ll let you decide
Hmmm...I'll have to log onto the Fed's website and see if they have the specific language published there. The only thing that is available to the general public is that the language was clarified, and I was relying on memory the fact they clarified the definition of a scrimmage kick. Maybe the more specific language is password protected to keep us on edge till this summer when we all get our books.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 22, 2009, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref View Post
This is how the Referee article reads:

“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”
Wow! So if you're in a scrimmage kick formation, you'll need 6 line players wearing 50-79? (Or 1 fewer than the number of linemen if you have an 8-man line, etc.?) And neither of the ends will be allowed to wear eligible numbers? Or does that apply only if they become "the kicking team" during the subsequent down?

I suspect Referee goofed.

Robert in the Bronx
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 21, 2009, 07:50am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref View Post
If I understand the new numbering exception rules, this would be a foul at the snap if the snapper is under the exception rule. The snapper must be between the ends. Some variations of the old swinging gate may become illegal. I’ll be interested to see how shifts might affect eligibility in this set.
From what I'm gathering from my "research" on the topic of the numbering exception, the only thing they did with the rule was clarify what a scrimmage kick is. I don't think they've completely outlawed the swinging gate offenses by rewording the scrimmage kick definition. If they did (and perhaps inadvertently), then there's going to be more coaches upset at the 11-man game than those using the A-11 offense. Coaches in the 8-man game would care less because their numbering exception would still be in place (I would hope so, otherwise there'll be screaming and gnashing of the teeth!).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tackle Eligible coachlaratta Football 20 Mon Nov 13, 2006 02:26pm
eligible back Forksref Football 10 Sun Nov 06, 2005 02:36pm
Eligible/Ineligible? WyMike Football 19 Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:43pm
QB Eligible Receiver? syavafootball Football 13 Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:20am
Center eligible? youmakethecall Football 10 Sun Nov 30, 2003 03:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1