![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I know it’s a dangerous source – Referee Magazine.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
|
|
|||
|
This is how the Referee article reads:
“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …” This seemed very specific and creditable as opposed to some of their interpretations. I’ll let you decide
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
OK, during the afternoon sit down (perfect place for Referee Mag) I re-read the article. Here is the piece I missed.
“On fourth down or trys, the kicking team may use the numbering exception when it sets or shifts into either type of scrimmage-kick formation” Since the winging gate is used mostly on trys, there shouldn’t be a major difference. It would only apply on downs 1, 2 & 3. My bad!
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Last edited by dumbref; Tue Apr 21, 2009 at 02:15pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I suspect Referee goofed. Robert in the Bronx |
|
|||
|
Robert-
I think perhaps you need to read it again. Remember the numbering requirment on a typical scrimmage play requires a minimum of at least 5 lineman to be numbered 50-79. The new 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down exception allows the snapper to wear #35 however there is still a requirment for a minimum of at least 4 lineman be number 50-79 if the exception is utilized. Unless I am reading something incorrectly the REFEREE article is correct...
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman other than those players on the end of the line may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
|
OK, I see said the blind man!!!
Quote:
My apologies to Robert! Sometimes you can't see the forest thru the trees!!! Since both the Definition of Scrimmage Kick and 7-2-5 are being re-written, thus, I would expect to find somewhere in 7-2-5 something like: On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive and that player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. He remains an ineligible reciever throught the down unless the opponent touchs the ball. Additionally, at the snap, at least four A lineman must be numbered 50-79 inclusive. This is the intent of the rule change. If he wording does not come out as clear as expected I suspect SRH may have wording to correct it in time for the 2010 rule book.
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
So maybe it should have said: Quote:
Robert in the Bronx Last edited by Robert Goodman; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 07:34pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Tackle Eligible | coachlaratta | Football | 20 | Mon Nov 13, 2006 02:26pm |
| eligible back | Forksref | Football | 10 | Sun Nov 06, 2005 02:36pm |
| Eligible/Ineligible? | WyMike | Football | 19 | Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:43pm |
| QB Eligible Receiver? | syavafootball | Football | 13 | Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:20am |
| Center eligible? | youmakethecall | Football | 10 | Sun Nov 30, 2003 03:56pm |