The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 06, 2009, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 132
Back to the Subject at Hand...

First, thank you to all who replied to my original question. I thought the snapper had to be set prior to snapping as well, I just wanted to be sure.

Second, my mind must really be rusty on the rules. Isn't the restriction on the motion man only requires him to be 5 yards behind the line of scrimmage at the snap if he is to receive a handoff? Isn't he allowed to go in motion on the line of scrimmage or does he clearly have to position himself as a back prior to going in motion?

I know this is something I should know but for whatever reason it escapes me at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 06, 2009, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
NF: 7.3.6 & 7 covers this. "Only one player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not towards the opponent's goal line. Except for the player"under the snapper",....the player in motion shall be at least 5 yards behind the LOS at the snap if he started from any position not clearly behind the line and did not establish himself as a back by stopping for at least one full second....."

So, if a player on the line simply takes a step backwards, so he's clearly off the line, pauses at that position for a full second, (a separate shift by which he establishes himself as a back) he can then go in motion without being restricted to the 5 yards behind the LOS requirement.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 06, 2009, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simbio View Post
First, thank you to all who replied to my original question. I thought the snapper had to be set prior to snapping as well, I just wanted to be sure.

Second, my mind must really be rusty on the rules. Isn't the restriction on the motion man only requires him to be 5 yards behind the line of scrimmage at the snap if he is to receive a handoff? Isn't he allowed to go in motion on the line of scrimmage or does he clearly have to position himself as a back prior to going in motion?

I know this is something I should know but for whatever reason it escapes me at the moment.
If an end goes in motion by rule he must be five yards behind the line of scrimmage irrepsective of whether he will receive a handoff. Unlike the NFL an end cannot go in motion on the line.

The current rule allows blocks below the waist and clips on the initial charge by offensive players stationary on the line of scrimmage and stationary at the snap and defensive players. At one point players who were in the 6 x 8 zone were allowed to BIBs and clips.

The restriction on the end was to make sure if the end went in motion he would be outside the free blocking zone at the snap.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
illegal shift or illegal motion verticalStripes Football 20 Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:34pm
Illegal Snap Jaysef Football 5 Wed Oct 04, 2006 02:07pm
Illegal snap LAREF Football 11 Thu Dec 16, 2004 08:36am
illegal snap timharris Football 5 Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:45am
Illegal Motion or Illegal Shift Simbio Football 11 Fri Oct 31, 2003 08:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1