The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 05, 2009, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland View Post
Actually, I did not find it ambiguous. Consider yourself of sufficient intellect and myself, consider we both do more than read the rule, that is we read the Case Book and maybe even the Redding Guide. The spirit and intent become clear, you cannot block an eligible receiver going out for a pass.

But there are some (my interpreter) who read the rule and cannot get past the wording, that is why it is ambiguous.
Is this another attempt to beat this, "Spirit and intent" thing to death to justify your personal interpretation? The statement, "you cannot block an eligible receiver going out for a pass", is simply over generalized, exaggerated and fundamentally WRONG.

No receiver has an absolute right to roam freely around the field, when there is ONLY a suspicion by the defense that a pass will be thrown. The receiver has a definite advantage in that he KNOWS the objective is to throw a pass, which is information the defensive player does not have, until the ball is actually thrown.

From that instant forward, you cannot block an eligible receiver going out for a pass as it violates NF 7.5.10 (forward pass Interference), but those restrictions do not apply for the defense until (NF: 7.5.8.b), "when the ball leaves the passer's hand".

A graphic example would be: Eigible A1 running due north, 10 yards beyond the LOS, B1 running due south towards A1 ( who is between B1 and runner A2, who is 15 yards away, still behind the LOS). B1 executes a legal block on
A1, knocking him to the ground, before A1 changes direction or moves away from the contact, before A2 is able to throw a pass. Absolutely legal and a good defensive play by B1.

The design of the rule is that until a pass is thrown, B1 can consider A1, in advance of a runner (a passer doesn't become a passer until he throws the ball) a potential threat to be a blocker. NF:9.2.3.d specifies, " A defensive player shall not; (d) contact an eligibal receiver who is no longer a potential blocker . Case Book 9.2.3.sit A further explains that, "A defender may legally contact an eligbile receiver beyond the NZ before the pass is inflight. The contact may be a block (Note NF: 2.3.1) or warding off the opponent who is attempting to block by pushing ot pulling him. However, if the receiver is not attempting to block (again, note NF 2.3.1) OR has gone past or is moving away, it is illegal for the defender to use hands in the manner described."

The significant element is the covering official's judgment as to what he observes on THAT specific play. There is NO "one size fits all". If the defender is in a position where the receiver poses a threat to block him, he may legally initiate contact before the ball is thrown. If the threat has been removed, by the receiver going past, or away from the defender, contact is likely illegal.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Rule 8-5-H EFFECT Example Welpe Softball 7 Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:23pm
when does the look-back-rule go into effect after a hit batter BuggBob Softball 17 Wed May 07, 2008 01:01pm
NCAA BOO effect CecilOne Softball 10 Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am
Force Still In Effect? chuckfan1 Baseball 17 Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm
Did It effect the Play? PeteBooth Baseball 10 Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1