The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2002, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally posted by Sleeper
Here is the question:

Fourth and 12 on the B-48 yard line. A punt bounces at the B-14 yard line, rolls to the B-4 yard line where A18 muffs it. B31 picks up the ball at the B-2 yard line and runs to the B-45 yard line where he is hit and fumbles. A62 recovers and is downed at the B-44 yard line. During B31's run, B56 illegally blocked A45 in the back above the waist at the B-20 yard line and B94 clipped A8 at the B-40 yard line.

Here is my stab at it (NCAA):

Team A ball at the B 25, 1st and 10, unless A declines the penalty, then B ball at the 4 for illegal touching.

What a challenge for a referee. Here is the NFHS version.

1) At B's 4 A18 muff is first touching violation -- drop a bean bag.

2) B commits illegal block in the back above the waist at B's 20. Drop a flag.

3) B commits a clip at B's 40. Drop a flag.

4) B31 fumbles at B's 45 -- drop a bean bag.

5) At conclusion of play I would call both captains. Captain A to make a choice and B to hear the choices since this is complicated.

6) The conversation goes something like this;
"Captain A, if you want the ball you must decline the two penalties against B."

I would stop the explanation there because he will never hear the remainder of the conversation, anyway. A gets the ball if the penalty is declined because in order to penalize B they must retain possession since a change of possession occurs after the foul.

7) A good Ed Hochuli-type explanation goes something like this to explain all the cloth scattered on the field.

"We have multiple fouls against B. A block in the back and a clip. These fouls occurred before change of possession gave the ball to A. In order for A to retain possession, by rule, A must decline the penalties against B. Therefore, both penalties are declined. First down for A at B's 44."

BTW. The first touching is ignored since B took possession.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1