View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 13, 2002, 02:48pm
bigwhistle bigwhistle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
Quote:
Originally posted by Sleeper
Here is the question:

Fourth and 12 on the B-48 yard line. A punt bounces at the B-14 yard line, rolls to the B-4 yard line where A18 muffs it. B31 picks up the ball at the B-2 yard line and runs to the B-45 yard line where he is hit and fumbles. A62 recovers and is downed at the B-44 yard line. During B31's run, B56 illegally blocked A45 in the back above the waist at the B-20 yard line and B94 clipped A8 at the B-40 yard line.



Team A WILL NOT get to keep the football. If Team A accepts either penalty, this will eliminate the illegal touching but Team B will retain possession because they had the ball when the foul occurred. If Team A declines the penalty then Team B gets the ball at the 4 yd line because of the illegal touching.

The consequences of illegal touching are eliminated if there are offsetting fouls or an accepted penalty for a foul by either team during the down.

**Thanks to Rogers Redding for his easy to understand interpretation for this situation. Anyone who works under NCAA rules would be well advised to get a copy of his REFEREE'S STUDY GUIDE, which he puts out every season.
Reply With Quote