View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2002, 04:55pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I don't officiate NCAA rules but I'll take a stab at it:

Team A cannot keep the ball. If they accept either penalty, it's B's ball. If they decline the penalty, B would get the ball at the spot of illegal touching. That would be the best option for A, since B would get the ball at their own 4 yard line. 6-3-2a,b

Under NF, Team A could keep the ball. To keep the ball, Team A must decline both penalties. Touching the ball by A18 is not illegal touching, it's first touching. Team B is only allowed to take the ball at the spot of first touching if they do not touch the ball and then foul afterwards. When they fouled, they lost the privilege.
Reply With Quote