![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
NF:9.2.3.d is not complicated; "A defensive player shall not (d): Contact an eligible receiver who is no longer a potential blocker". Obviously, the key is what is determined by what "no longer a potential blocker" means. That has long been understood to mean, any offensive player between a runner and a defensive player is a potential blocker. Before a passer actually throws a football, he is a runner, and every offensive player between that runner and every defensive player is a potential blocker, and therefore can be legally contacted before the ball is actually thrown. As long as the defensive player can keep his opponent between him and the runner, all the way to the end line, he can consider the opponent a "potential blocker", and legally initiate contact. As the case book points out, when the offensive player moves away from, or past, the defender the threat he poses, as a potential blocker, evaporates as does the protection the defensive player enjoys from contecting him. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by kdf5; Thu Jan 29, 2009 at 12:43pm. |
|
|||
Perhaps there is a difference at other levels of the game, but at the NFHS level there is no difference, all offensive players, other than a runner, are potential blockers and potential receivers don't become potential receivers until a forward pass is thrown.
|
|
|||
Where did you get that? If you can cite a rule I'd like to see it. YOU quoted 9-2-3d. It talks about eligible receivers, not potential receivers. Eligible receivers are defined in 7-5-6. I don't think I've seen the term potential receivers anywhere. A potential blocker can be contacted as much as a defender wants to, within the rules, but an eligible receiver who's a potential blocker is going to receive some protection and can't be contacted "all the way to the end line" if he's not attempting to block or moving past or away from the defender. Am I flagging B if he's running side by side with A and A's not blocking B? Probably not unless B's actions are pretty egregious.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Remember, only the receiver knows what route he is running, all the defender can do is react to what the receiver does and some receivers are really good at sending false signals to deceive defenders. Whether the potential passer is moving, standing still or fading back is totally immaterial, because until he throws a pass, he is a runner. It's also doubtful that in many, if not most instances, the downfield defender's primary focus is on the potential passers directional movements. |
|
|||
Quote:
If they are even and B intentionally contacts A, I'm more than likely gonna flag it. Gotta be there to say for sure. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Quote:
One youth "coach" told me this past season they were going to bump receivers off their routes to which my reply was be prepared to see my flag. |
|
|||
Quote:
NF: 2.3.5 explains what a defensive player is allowed to do, (a) provides him the authority to "ward off an opponent who is blocking him or is attempting to block him." Keep in mind "B" has no advance knowledge of what type of play is unfolding and the basic premis is, that until the ball is actually thrown, every opponent between the defensive player and the runner (who may or may not subsequently become a passer) is a potential blocker and the defender has every right to defend himself, all the way to the end line, which is different than other rule codes. NF: 7.5.6 clearly indicates, "Pass eligibility rules apply only to a legal forward pass." Until the pass is thrown, eligibility is not a relevant factor. Suggesting that a player, because he wears a certain number and has assumed a certain position satisfying eligibility requirements is afforded added protections and enjoys some special right of way to run patterns, simply does not exist at the NFHS level. Until an offensive player, eligible or not, ceases to be a blocking threat by running past, or away, from a defender before a legal pass is actually thrown, is fair game for a legal block from a defender. If the defender holds or otherwise illegally impedes an opponent, who is not a threat, is a different story. As for advantage, the offense enjoys the biggest unfair advantage in that they know ahead of time whether or not a pass might be thrown. If the defender initiates contact while the opponent is between him and the passer, before the opponent occupies the same line, or is moving away from the defender he is totally within his rights, and the NFHS rules, in doing so. You should not be flagging bumping potential receivers, when it's done properly. That may not be the case with other rules codes which include additional restrictions and considerations. However those restrictions and considerations are not applicable to NFHS contests. Last edited by ajmc; Thu Jan 29, 2009 at 04:11pm. |
|
|||||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Allow me to start, and try again. A defensive player may legally initiate contact with an opponent anywhere on the field, so long as it doesn't violate NF: 2.3.5 or 6. The simple fact that any offensive player happens to qualify as an eligible receiver is totally immaterial as to what he can do, or can be done to him during a running play. Until someone actually throws a pass, the defense is entirely within it's rights to consider the play unfolding a running play, up to the instant a legal forward pass is actually thrown. Until a legal forward pass is thrown, a defensive player is entitled to iniate contact with any opponent who is between him, and the runner, or until an opponent occupies the same yard line (without posing a blocking threat) or has run past the defender, or is running away from the defender. If the defender is skilled enough to keep his opponent between him and the runner, whereas that opponent remains a potential blocker, until such runner becomes a passer, he can initiate contact legally over the entire length of a football field. The notion that an opponent, because of his eligibility to catch a forward pass, somehow allows him freedom from contact prior to a legal pass being thrown is absolute and utter nonsense, unless the receiver is judged, by the covering official, to no longer pose a blocking threat, by running past, or away from, the defender. Other rule codes have applied additional restrictions, i.e. no contact after 5 yards, that DO NOT apply to NFHS rules. Waltjp: I have no idea what your problem is, or what you find problematic with what I've said, but either I'm not getting my point across, or you're not paying attention to what I've said. If you'd care to be more specific, I'd be happy to address your concerns. In the meantime, don't concern yourself with my being interested in applying to work on "your crew". |
|
|||
The problem with this rule is really quite simple. "Potential Blocker", just what the heck is that? It's not well defined anywhere in the book and we are stuck with only a case book play that presents a blatantly obvious example.
So, barring a clear directive from ones assoc, it's simply up to the covering official to decide when the defense has crossed that line between acceptable and non-acceptable contact. And that's why we get the big bucks. If B is in front of A, he can do just about any legal block. If they are side-by-side, realistically all I've ever seen is some incidental contact, but if B knocks A seriously off his path I probably have a foul. If A gets beyond B, 99.9% of the time B isn't going to be blocking anyway, he's going to be grabbing & holding. If A is clearly not acting like a blocker, for example Ed's buttonhook question, I don't know how you can possibly allow a B to just blast him no matter where he's coming from. Potential blockers rarely just stand there looking back at the QB.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
'Tis but a flesh wound!
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Perhaps you should read what I write, rather than presuming you think you know what I mean. Absolutely nothing has changed, or morphed, between what I initially stated and what is correct, that as long as the receiver poses a blocking threat, contact initiated by the defense is perfectly legal if initiated before the pass is actually thrown. Since there have never been two pass plays exactly the same, the judgment as to whether the offensive player did, or did not, constitute a blocking threat when contact was iniated is made, entirely, by the covering official. I routinely include specific rule references to support most observations, other than the most rudimentary and basic. Forgive me for presuming you had such a grasp of the issues, I won't make that assumption again. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/51281-no-longer-potential-blocker.html
|
||||
Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
CoachHuey.com - Coaches' Ignorance | This thread | Refback | Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20pm | |
• View topic - Rules question | This thread | Refback | Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:14am | |
• View topic - Rules question | This thread | Refback | Sat Sep 08, 2012 01:02pm | |
CoachHuey.com - Better Know This Rule... | This thread | Refback | Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:50am | |
CoachHuey.com - Better Know This Rule... | This thread | Refback | Tue May 29, 2012 01:43pm |
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Until what point can you no longer call...? | referee99 | Basketball | 4 | Tue Jan 06, 2009 08:50pm |
When is a swing no longer a strike? | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 5 | Thu May 01, 2008 05:37pm |
Longer Referee Shorts? | imaref | Soccer | 4 | Fri Aug 18, 2006 06:27pm |
Hat Blocker | BuggBob | Softball | 21 | Thu May 26, 2005 05:54am |
Back Row Blocker | Spaman_29 | Volleyball | 6 | Sun Oct 13, 2002 03:27am |