The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland View Post
"he was holding him, then, the ball was thrown to him and he continued to hold him." Hmmm.

Why not just penalized the PI, after all, if faced with the choice any player or coach would choose the PI, why confuse everyone with the choice?
Because the spot following the enforcement for holding would be more favorable under NFL (and, IIRC, AFA and USFA) rules.

So, you ask, why not just decide which is more favorable and announce only that? Because I have this quaint idea that more information is better than less.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 07:36pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Because the spot following the enforcement for holding would be more favorable under NFL (and, IIRC, AFA and USFA) rules.

So, you ask, why not just decide which is more favorable and announce only that? Because I have this quaint idea that more information is better than less.

Robert
I would hate to be your white hat in this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Because the spot following the enforcement for holding would be more favorable under NFL (and, IIRC, AFA and USFA) rules.

So, you ask, why not just decide which is more favorable and announce only that? Because I have this quaint idea that more information is better than less.

Robert
You are giving the coaches, spectators, etc. a lot more credit than I do.

The rules of football are complicated at best and the average Joe is not the brightest light bulb on the planet. Notice, I give players credit.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
As a WH, I'd say, "MAKE UP YOUR MIND!"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4
Thanks for the diversion.(Finally)

If I'm the one throwing the flag, I'm not bringing my WH options. I'll tell him the one foul I think is the most appropriate, which in this case would have been DPI. (If the hold continued from pre-pass to post pass). If the offended coach is wondering how you could have thrown your flag for DPI before the ball was thrown (which could very well happen) it would be an easy explanation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
off-topic diversion (sidewalk art) jkjenning Basketball 11 Wed Mar 14, 2007 11:23pm
3rd strike dropped "diversion" when batter/runner is already out chuck chopper Softball 14 Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1