Thread: diversion
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 04:19pm
Robert Goodman Robert Goodman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Play:

Team A 2D/7 @ B-49. Team B holds the Team A WR 2 yards past the LS. Pass goes to this WR where it falls incomplete.

Ruling: ???
I think what you're getting at is the situation where the incident of holding began before the ball was thrown but continues once the ball is thrown. On the principle or "why let them benefit by making the violation worse", I'd call both illegal use of hands and PI, allowing the choice of penalties. Depending on which code the game is played under, either penalty might be more advantageous to the nonoffending side.

However, I would not call PI unless the receiver appeared to have some awareness of the ball as it came. Otherwise a potential passer could turn a holding call into PI just by throwing the ball toward a receiver whose back was turned and who was being held.

Robert
Reply With Quote