![]() |
diversion
Play:
Team A 2D/7 @ B-49. Team B holds the Team A WR 2 yards past the LS. Pass goes to this WR where it falls incomplete. Ruling: ??? |
NFHS,
if the hold came before the pass was thrown, 10 yds from previous spot. Yardage in this case gives a 1st down. if the hold came after the pass was thrown making it DPI, 15 yds from previous spot and auto 1st down. |
For NFHS, it sounds pretty straightforward. The defensive holding penalty is a 10 penalty. The basic spot, for a loose ball play, is the previous spot from which enforcement would take the ball beyond the LTG, resulting in 1st and 10, for A, at the B-39yl.
|
Quote:
However, I would not call PI unless the receiver appeared to have some awareness of the ball as it came. Otherwise a potential passer could turn a holding call into PI just by throwing the ball toward a receiver whose back was turned and who was being held. Robert |
Quote:
|
Quote:
So what if one of my crew members came to me and said, "I have an illegal use of hands and a PI." And, I would ask for the number of each. And, he would say the same number. Oh! Yeah, so how is that. He says, "he was holding him, then, the ball was thrown to him and he continued to hold him." Hmmm. Why not just penalized the PI, after all, if faced with the choice any player or coach would choose the PI, why confuse everyone with the choice? |
Quote:
|
Remember the OSU / Miami NC game a few years ago?
The FJ Terry Porter reported holding, then DPI, as part of the same contact of B against A. Was this his way of telling us what act the DPI was; the holding of the WR? |
Quote:
So, you ask, why not just decide which is more favorable and announce only that? Because I have this quaint idea that more information is better than less. Robert |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The rules of football are complicated at best and the average Joe is not the brightest light bulb on the planet. Notice, I give players credit. |
As a WH, I'd say, "MAKE UP YOUR MIND!"
|
Thanks for the diversion.(Finally)
If I'm the one throwing the flag, I'm not bringing my WH options. I'll tell him the one foul I think is the most appropriate, which in this case would have been DPI. (If the hold continued from pre-pass to post pass). If the offended coach is wondering how you could have thrown your flag for DPI before the ball was thrown (which could very well happen) it would be an easy explanation. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44pm. |