The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
I was having this argument with a buddy. I was saying that the force which put the ball in the end zone was the kick and so it should be a touchback.(in NF) I was not aware of a difference with the NCAA rule.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin View Post
I was having this argument with a buddy. I was saying that the force which put the ball in the end zone was the kick and so it should be a touchback.(in NF) I was not aware of a difference with the NCAA rule.
NCAA: it would be an automatic touch-back if it was untouched by a team-B player in the field of play.

Anytime a team-B player touches the scrimmage kick and subsequently muffs the ball either into or in the end zone, any team-B player must recover the ball before it becomes a touchback. Should a team-A player recover the ball, it becomes a touchdown.

Yes, this is a significant difference between NF and NCAA rules as it pertains to scrimmage kicks into the team-B endzone.
Just one of the over 200 plus categories of differences.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey View Post
NCAA: it would be an automatic touch-back if it was untouched by a team-B player in the field of play.

Anytime a team-B player touches the scrimmage kick and subsequently muffs the ball either into or in the end zone, any team-B player must recover the ball before it becomes a touchback. Should a team-A player recover the ball, it becomes a touchdown.

Yes, this is a significant difference between NF and NCAA rules as it pertains to scrimmage kicks into the team-B endzone.
Just one of the over 200 plus categories of differences.
Is it also true that on a free kick that hasn't touched the ground, it can be returned out of the EZ in NCAA?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Yes, its true.

Frankly, the Fed rule here is bizarre.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 01:03pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post

Frankly, the Fed rule here is bizarre.
It is actually pretty simple and makes enforcement simple. A legal kick always retains its status as a kick until it ends (such as the ball being recovered or becoming dead). This leads to the axiom "A kick is a kick until it is no longer a kick."

In Fed, a kick that breaks the plane of R's goal line is ALWAYS a touchback. You don't need to worry about a new impetus being imparted on the ball, or situations regarding when the receiving team may and may not advance the ball out of the endzone. It is all a moot point in Fed.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
Is it also true that on a free kick that hasn't touched the ground, it can be returned out of the EZ in NCAA?
Correct..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
In Fed, a kick that breaks the plane of R's goal line is ALWAYS a touchback.
So a punter, K1, standing at his own 3 gets his punt blocked by R1 and the ball goes backwards into the end zone, it is a touchback?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 05:17pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
So a punter, K1, standing at his own 3 gets his punt blocked by R1 and the ball goes backwards into the end zone, it is a touchback?
No, of course not. Your example is a kick that goes into K's endzone. If the ball becomes dead in the endzone it will either be a touchdown or a safety.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 03, 2009, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
So a punter, K1, standing at his own 3 gets his punt blocked by R1 and the ball goes backwards into the end zone, it is a touchback?
You answered your own question. K1 is standing in K's end zone, not R's end zone.

In the International Bowl, there have been two more kicks that were muffed into the end zone, by UConn. On the punt, Buffalo was able to recover for a TD. On the kickoff, the UConn player recovered and ran it out of the EZ where he fumbled inside the 5.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2009, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
The same play happened in the Uconn - Buffalo game and I was wondering the same thing.

Question on another play they had - On a kickoff, the Uconn player muffed the ball on the 10 and the ball rolled into the endzone where he picked it up and ran it out. This would be a touchback if he would have taken a knee there, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
Is it also true that on a free kick that hasn't touched the ground, it can be returned out of the EZ in NCAA?
REPLY: And on scrimmage kicks as well. And notice that on free kicks caught in the end zone, the R doesn't start the clock until the runner crosses the goal line coming out.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muffed Punt - TD? bossman72 Football 7 Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:27am
Muffed Punt on 3rd down gtwbam Football 3 Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:17am
MNF: Muffed punt tpaul Football 4 Tue Oct 11, 2005 07:15am
Theory behind the muffed punt...? EricSeattle Football 8 Mon Oct 18, 2004 03:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1