The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 07:07am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sloth View Post
As a referee, I would stop the play and send the kicker off to get a new tailbone pad. This is a safety foul and it needs to be fixed before the next play, but the 15yard USC is overkill. Lets not forget, we're out there to insure the players safety and to proveide a fair contest. We need to look for ways to have a good game and NOT impact the outcome.
Sloth has it right.
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 07:12am
Official Forum Member

So what would be your call if he lined up to kick without a helmet?
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 07:49am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
As a referee, I would stop the play and send the kicker off to get a new tailbone pad. This is a safety foul and it needs to be fixed before the next play, but the 15yard USC is overkill. Lets not forget, we're out there to insure the players safety and to proveide a fair contest. We need to look for ways to have a good game and NOT impact the outcome.
If the kicker is also the team's star QB who just threw a 50-yard bomb to set up the potential winning FG you're going to have a hard time not enforcing the rule about participating without wearing the required equipment.

It's a tough spot to be in but unless you decide to willfully set aside a rule I don't see what else you can do.
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 07:51am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
We need to look for ways to have a good game and NOT impact the outcome.