The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 06:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Mood Risin View Post
It was called no catch on the field. Other than hitting the pylon, nothing came down in bounds. I was rooting for Michigan and I couldnt believe it was being reviewed because it wasn't close. I was stunned by the overturn.

The sideline reporter asked MSU's coach at halftime what the explaination was from the referee and the coach said all the R told him was to please remember no official on the field called it a TD and no one on the field was responsible for that ruling. If that's true, it's quite and indictment.
That's why I asked the question. I too was stunned at the reversal.
__________________
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by STEVED21 View Post
That's why I asked the question. I too was stunned at the reversal.
I thought instant replay was instituted to correct missed calls, not change correct calls.

Wonder what the conversation between the Referee and the Replay booth was like on that one?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Only video I have found so far (might want to mute the volume)

YouTube - MSU vs Michigan (2008 rivalry!!) 35-21 MSU
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 53
Looked like his left toe tapped in but his right foot was already down OOB. Interesting overturn and more interesting explanation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
That would be tough to be a WH and have your reputation affected by the decision of a hidden replay official.

At least in the NFL the WH gets to make his own decision.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 244
We work NCAA Rules here in the UK.

My understanding is that,

If a runner with possession of the ball dives for the pylon and the ball hits the pylon - TD. The pylon is in the EZ and OOB. I guess the philosophy is that the ball breaks the plane of the GL before being OOB.

If a player gets the ball while he is airborne, then the catch is not complete until he comes down inbounds (and maintains possession of the ball). If the player comes down and first contact is with the pylon, then he is OOB. I guess the philosophy difference from the running play example is that the airborne receiver does not have possession when he breaks the plane.

I've watched the (poor quality YouTube) film and the FJ was in a good position to rule on it, and I think he got it right. Not sure what rationale the Reply booth might have had to overrule the FJ. Perhaps the BigTen will make a statement subsequently.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Did not take long. From the Detroit Free Press:

Big Ten commish calls pylon ruling 'not acceptable'; punishment possible
By SHANNON SHELTON • FREE PRESS SPORTS WRITER • October 26, 2008


PARK RIDGE, Ill. — Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany said the decision by a replay official to award Michigan’s Brandon Minor with a touchdown against Michigan State on Saturday, overruling the on-field referee’s call, was “not acceptable.”


“The people in the replay booth made a mistake,” Delany said while meeting with reporters at the conference’s basketball media day Sunday. “It wasn’t a mistake of judgment; it was a mistake of an application of the rule. They applied the wrong rule and they applied it improperly.”

Minor leaped to make a 19-yard catch from Steven Threet and landed out of bounds, causing the on-field referee to rule the play incomplete. The replay official overturned the call, saying Minor’s foot hit the pylon. According to NCAA rules, however, an airborne player that touches a pylon is considered out of bounds.

The touchdown tied the game at 7-7 in the first quarter, but ultimately didn’t affect the game’s outcome. MSU won, 35-21, at Michigan Stadium.

“I expect more from them than that,” Delany said. “You can understand a mistake of judgment on the field, and you can even understand possibly not getting the standard right because we want indisputable video evidence that a play is wrong. But to apply the wrong rule to a situation is not acceptable to me.”

Delany said disciplinary action was possible.

“I haven’t decided yet, but we may,” he said. “I doubt if we do anything publicly, but there has to be an understanding that we expect on the field and in the booth 100% knowledge of the rules, applying the right rule to the right situation. You might make a mistake in terms of judgment, but I expect our officials to know the rules and apply the right rule to the right situation. We didn’t do that, and that’s not acceptable.”
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike View Post
Did not take long. From the Detroit Free Press:

Big Ten commish calls pylon ruling 'not acceptable'; punishment possible
By SHANNON SHELTON • FREE PRESS SPORTS WRITER • October 26, 2008


PARK RIDGE, Ill. — Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany said the decision by a replay official to award Michigan’s Brandon Minor with a touchdown against Michigan State on Saturday, overruling the on-field referee’s call, was “not acceptable.”


“The people in the replay booth made a mistake,” Delany said while meeting with reporters at the conference’s basketball media day Sunday. “It wasn’t a mistake of judgment; it was a mistake of an application of the rule. They applied the wrong rule and they applied it improperly.”

Minor leaped to make a 19-yard catch from Steven Threet and landed out of bounds, causing the on-field referee to rule the play incomplete. The replay official overturned the call, saying Minor’s foot hit the pylon. According to NCAA rules, however, an airborne player that touches a pylon is considered out of bounds.

The touchdown tied the game at 7-7 in the first quarter, but ultimately didn’t affect the game’s outcome. MSU won, 35-21, at Michigan Stadium.

“I expect more from them than that,” Delany said. “You can understand a mistake of judgment on the field, and you can even understand possibly not getting the standard right because we want indisputable video evidence that a play is wrong. But to apply the wrong rule to a situation is not acceptable to me.”

Delany said disciplinary action was possible.

“I haven’t decided yet, but we may,” he said. “I doubt if we do anything publicly, but there has to be an understanding that we expect on the field and in the booth 100% knowledge of the rules, applying the right rule to the right situation. You might make a mistake in terms of judgment, but I expect our officials to know the rules and apply the right rule to the right situation. We didn’t do that, and that’s not acceptable.”
So the replay official cannot be overruled on a rules' interpretation by the 7 officials on the field? Kudos to the Referee in this game for letting everyone know what the guys on the field thought.

It is one thing to slow down the play and look for feet in bounds, etc.
It is quite another to blow a rule.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Just from a fan's perspective lurking over here from baseball...

The college replay system is seriously whack. They review the most useless things most of the time, it slows the game down too much, and by not allowing your white hat to make his own decision you run into crap like this.

If R really knew what the IR guy saw, and knew the rule he was applying was wrong, would anybody have a problem if he went against the IR and made the call he knew was right? He must of known it was dead wrong if he admitted it to HC...

Peace
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wisc/Mich 4th and short PSU213 Football 7 Sun Sep 28, 2008 05:05pm
Mich St / Indiana tjones1 Basketball 16 Wed Mar 05, 2008 09:07am
Mich/Minn ? kd0254 Basketball 2 Fri Mar 10, 2006 12:27pm
Gonzaga/Mich St. in Maui ChuckElias Basketball 7 Wed Nov 23, 2005 03:51pm
Duke Mich St 4.2 secs justacoach Basketball 7 Fri Mar 25, 2005 09:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1