The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack (3) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  3 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 244
We play NCAA Rules over here in the UK and have no problems since NCAA Rules and AR's are quite specific on this point. Firstly NCAA Rules have a Section about Defensive Team Requirements (7-1-5) and a specific AR 7-1-5-II that addresses this exact issue.

Snapper A1 legally begins the snap, but B2 bats the ball before A1 completes the snap, and B3 recovers the ball.
RULING: Team B foul and the ball is dead.
Penalty -- Five yards from the succeeding spot. Team B may not touch the ball until it has been snapped. Team A retains possession.


I'm not quite so familiar with Fed rules as I only get to work them a couple of times every 3 or 4 years when I travel to the US. Fed rules lack a specific section for defensive requirements, but perhaps this is because the Fed Rules Ctte. feel there is adequate existing coverage in 7-1-5 already.

However, Rule 7 Section 1 BEFORE THE SNAP Article 5 says no player except the snapper shall encroach on the neutral zone. That includes the defence. I would think it reasonable and appropriate to interpret "before the snap" to mean "before the end of the snap".
The end of the snap is defined in 2-40-3 as "when the ball touches the ground or any player". Therefore I would maintain that it cannot be legally possible for a defensive player to put his hand across to touch the ball before the snap is completed since he will have encroached.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
You better rethink that or are you not going to allow the defense to penetrate the neutral zone until the QB in shotgun formation touches the ball?
It's really pretty simple, if the snap is done correctly it is not possible for the defense to slap the ball out of the snappers hand. Therefore, you must either have a snap infraction because the snap was not done properly or you have encroachment because the defense was in the zone prior to the snap.

Last edited by Mike L; Thu Oct 23, 2008 at 05:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Snap infraction is false start!

PENALTY: Encroachment (Arts. 1, 5, 6) – (S7-18); snap infraction (Arts. 2, 3);
false start (Art. 7) – (S7-19) – 5 yards.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 07:25pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
John those are different fouls referencing different articles of that rule.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Same signal for snap infraction and false start, same penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
What is the signal for snap infraction?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 12:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
Same signal for snap infraction and false start, same penalty.
Same signal for helping runner and interlocked blocking, different penalty.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 04:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
If you look on the signal chart, signal 44 states both of those infractions. Signal 19 says false start or illegal formation.

http://i38.tinypic.com/iyzoqx.jpg

Last edited by bigjohn; Fri Oct 24, 2008 at 07:17am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
Same signal for snap infraction and false start, same penalty.
Yes, the penalty is the same but it is a different foul.

ART. 7 . . . After the ball is marked ready for play and before the snap begins,
no false start shall be made by any A player. It is a false start if:
a. A shift or feigned charge simulates action at the snap.
b. Any act is clearly intended to cause B to encroach.
c. Any A player on his line between the snapper and the player on the end of
his line, after having placed a hand(s) on or near the ground, moves his
hand(s) or makes any quick movement.

I don't see snap infraction listed as a reason for a false start.

This is a snap infraction:

ART. 2 . . . The snapper may lift the ball for lateral rotation but may not rotate
end-for-end or change the location or fail to keep the long axis of the ball at right
angles to the line of scrimmage.
ART. 3 . . . Following the ready-for-play and after touching the ball, the snapper
shall not:
a. Remove both hands from the ball.
b. Make any movement that simulates a snap.
c. Fail to clearly pause before the snap.
d. Following adjustment, lift or move the ball other than in a legal snap.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Those things can all cause B to encroach so they are false starts as well as snap infractions. Same thing. Same penalty same signal!

Point is if B hinders the snap or causes a false start it is USC.
Using 9-5-1d as rule.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
Snap infraction is false start!

PENALTY: Encroachment (Arts. 1, 5, 6) – (S7-18); snap infraction (Arts. 2, 3);
false start (Art. 7) – (S7-19) – 5 yards.
John, you do know that a snap infraction is a foul on the offense, right?
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/49484-slapping-snap.html
Posted By For Type Date
Can a nose guard swipe at the ball/center's arm when the ball is snapped? This thread Refback Mon Sep 08, 2014 09:31am
Interfering with the Snap This thread Refback Sat Aug 25, 2012 07:46am
Can a nose guard swipe at the ball/center's arm when the ball is snapped? This thread Refback Sun Apr 15, 2012 08:06pm

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? ChickenOfNC Football 18 Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm
Slapping Backboard Stripes33 Basketball 41 Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:27am
SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD OFISHE8 Basketball 4 Sat Dec 18, 2004 09:12am
slapping of the backboard timharris Basketball 2 Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1