The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 157
Case Book Question

4.2.3 SITUATION E: K's ball, 4th and 12, orn R's 45-yard line. K8's punt is rollin on R's 16 when an inadvertent whistle sounds. R76 blocks K84 in the back on R's 22-yard line during the down prior to the whistle. RULING: If the penalty is accepted, the foul takes precedence over the inadvertent whistle and results in post-scrimmage kick enforcement. If the penalty is declined, the inadvertent whistle during a loose ball play dictates a replay of the down. (2-16-2h; 4-2-3)

Can anybody explain to my where the enforcement would be from? Would it be R's 16 - even though the kick never ended?

....or is this an error in the book?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by GPC2 View Post
4.2.3 SITUATION E: K's ball, 4th and 12, orn R's 45-yard line. K8's punt is rollin on R's 16 when an inadvertent whistle sounds. R76 blocks K84 in the back on R's 22-yard line during the down prior to the whistle. RULING: If the penalty is accepted, the foul takes precedence over the inadvertent whistle and results in post-scrimmage kick enforcement. If the penalty is declined, the inadvertent whistle during a loose ball play dictates a replay of the down. (2-16-2h; 4-2-3)

Can anybody explain to my where the enforcement would be from? Would it be R's 16 - even though the kick never ended?

....or is this an error in the book?
If it said "rollin on R's 16," yeah, that's an error.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
The kick ended at the time the IW was blown.
Where ever the ball was is the end-of-kick stop. Hopefully one of the officials was alert enough to bag that spot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 157
But Thiesey, by saying that the R16 is the end of the kick, do you not imply that R would conceivably be able to play the ball from that spot had they not fouled prior to the IW?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
After I got home and has some free time to review the changed IW section in rule 4, I thought it would to allow for PSK to apply in as in this play.

However, the more I read the section, the more I became convinced that PSK does not apply and therefore the penalty will probably be accepted by team-K and marked off from the previous spot.

Maybe their intent was to allow PSK, but I don't see that in the way the rule was rewritten. To bad as it would be have been a better solution to a bad situation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey View Post
After I got home and has some free time to review the changed IW section in rule 4, I thought it would to allow for PSK to apply in as in this play.

However, the more I read the section, the more I became convinced that PSK does not apply and therefore the penalty will probably be accepted by team-K and marked off from the previous spot.

Maybe their intent was to allow PSK, but I don't see that in the way the rule was rewritten. To bad as it would be have been a better solution to a bad situation.
So you'd give K a first down in the OP? (Plus 15 more when you kick out the R coach?)
________
Easy vape review

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
I believe that if I am going to enforce PSK as the case book states, then I would hang my hat on the following:

2-24-2 - The kick ends when a player gains possession OR when the ball becomes dead while not in player possession. (note here that it does not state that the ball has come to a stop)

4-2-2j - The ball becomes dead and the down is ended...when an official sounds his whistle inadvertently.

10-4-3 - The basic spot is the spot where the kick ends when R commits a post-scrimmage kick foul (2-16-2h). R fouls behind the post-scrimmage kick spot are spot fouls.

The kick and down ended, and the ball became dead, when the official blew his whistle. For this play, the enforcement spot would be the end of the kick at the R-16. If the foul had occurred behind the PSK spot, then we would enforce from the spot of the foul.

Now if, as Bob M. questioned, the ball was still in the air, then we would hope to have a BJ or LJ who had their wits about them and could bag the spot where the ball was when the whistle blew.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIG View Post
I believe that if I am going to enforce PSK as the case book states, then I would hang my hat on the following:

2-24-2 - The kick ends when a player gains possession OR when the ball becomes dead while not in player possession. (note here that it does not state that the ball has come to a stop)

4-2-2j - The ball becomes dead and the down is ended...when an official sounds his whistle inadvertently.

10-4-3 - The basic spot is the spot where the kick ends when R commits a post-scrimmage kick foul (2-16-2h). R fouls behind the post-scrimmage kick spot are spot fouls.

The kick and down ended, and the ball became dead, when the official blew his whistle. For this play, the enforcement spot would be the end of the kick at the R-16. If the foul had occurred behind the PSK spot, then we would enforce from the spot of the foul.

Now if, as Bob M. questioned, the ball was still in the air, then we would hope to have a BJ or LJ who had their wits about them and could bag the spot where the ball was when the whistle blew.
The final piece to your argument is in Rule 4-2-

Art. 3 … An inadvertent whistle ends the down. Inadvertent whistles are administered as follows:

D. The penalty shall be administered as determined by the basic spot and take precedence over inadvertent whistle administration if, during the down a live-ball foul occurs prior to the inadvertent whistle and the penalty is accepted.

If a kick ends without player possession beyond the LOS, R fouls beyond the NZ before the kick ended – would that qualify as PSK? Since the penalty takes precedence over the inadvertent whistle – better get a bean bag on the field, sounds like PSK to me.

Bob M. - At least until they change the case play again
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref View Post
...If a kick ends without player possession beyond the LOS, R fouls beyond the NZ before the kick ended – would that qualify as PSK?

REPLY: Yes...if all of the PSK criteria are met (just like any other scrimmage kick). My only problem is with the last criteria: Without the foul, who would next be entitled to put the ball in play? To me, that doesn't appear to be satisfied.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
I decided not to post on Friday when it would have been about the 4th post in this thread as I wondered if some rule had changed but I had forgotten it.

An IW during a scrimmage kick where there is a foul by R that would usually qualify as a PSK foul is the absolute worst time for the IW. The kick did not end. We don't have a PSK spot. We have an IW spot. We must enforce the foul as a loose-ball play and go to the previous spot. K has a very good chance of making the first down and keeping the ball all due to the fact that we screwed up.

Only bad things happen with IWs and even this foul can't save us. If fact it makes things twice as bad.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrenkicker View Post
I decided not to post on Friday when it would have been about the 4th post in this thread as I wondered if some rule had changed but I had forgotten it.

An IW during a scrimmage kick where there is a foul by R that would usually qualify as a PSK foul is the absolute worst time for the IW. The kick did not end. We don't have a PSK spot. We have an IW spot. We must enforce the foul as a loose-ball play and go to the previous spot. K has a very good chance of making the first down and keeping the ball all due to the fact that we screwed up.

Only bad things happen with IWs and even this foul can't save us. If fact it makes things twice as bad.
I agree, the absolute worst time possible time for an IW. But the fact is the kick did end with the IW and more than likely the PSK spot is the same as the IW. It will not be the easiest or most accurate spot granted – but an enforcement spot.

The problem with previous spot is K holds all the cards and will very likely be awarded a first down through an official’s mistake when their intent was to give up the ball. They may still accept the penalty, they just are not as significantly reward as under the old interpretation. If they do not like the out come of the enforcement they can decline the penalty and replay the down under the IW provision.

IMHO the verbiage was always there to come to this conclusion and has been wrong since PSK was added to NF rules.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case Book Question PIAA REF Basketball 29 Sat Dec 01, 2007 01:50am
Beyond the Case Book tcannizzo Softball 4 Mon May 08, 2006 03:11pm
Case Book Question Rev.Ref63 Basketball 16 Sat Feb 18, 2006 12:24pm
Case book question John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 4 Fri Dec 19, 2003 10:38pm
Case book 4.19.8 B Danvrapp Basketball 6 Mon Jan 14, 2002 04:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1