The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
..
....
Coaching staff: "what are you doing get off the field".
As soon as the coach uses those words, he has stepped over the line.

Classic example of CB 9.9.3.Sit-B

Kill this play IMMEDIATELY and hit for 15 yards.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:12pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
As soon as the coach uses those words, he has stepped over the line.

Classic example of CB 9.9.3.Sit-B

Kill this play IMMEDIATELY and hit for 15 yards.
Bingo.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
As soon as the coach uses those words, he has stepped over the line.
You don't know that until the play develops. The coach could easily just have been mistaken.

Quote:
Classic example of CB 9.9.3.Sit-B

Kill this play IMMEDIATELY and hit for 15 yards.
What does "immediately" mean? You don't know it's intentional until the player at least turns upfield.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
As soon as it's snapped.. !

Of course the coach could be wrong.. but he's not!. He's making the other
team think he's wrong and that there is a problem he needs to correct.
It's BS all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
Robert, when you're on the field and this happens, it's very obvious the coach is not simply mistaken.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:50pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66
Robert, when you're on the field and this happens, it's very obvious the coach is not simply mistaken.
Especially when you counted/signaled 11 prior to the BS unfolding. It was so rehearsed
So whether it's IP or USC the result is the same, 15 yrds & repeat the down?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
USC, even when it occurs during a play, is always administered as a dead ball foul.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:57pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the clarifications, I appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 09:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
First-year official here, but allow me to cast my vote for the illegal participation. This is covered by Rule 9-6-4d.

The Case Book example referenced above doesn't fit this play as well as this rule does. Rule 9-9-1 applies to "an unfair act which has no specific rule coverage." This play has rule coverage.

Live ball foul. 15 yards from previous spot.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
As soon as it's snapped.. !
I doubt that. The player could still be ostensibly exiting, moving toward the sideline, as the ball is snapped, probably not turning upfield until after the snap. Are you allowed to kill the play at that time?

I've been on the sideline enough to know that the coaching staff can all be mistaken and pull one of 11 off the field.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2008, 01:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
If that's the case then the player wouldn't have turned upfield for the play. USC, blow it dead. Don't allow this play to develop.

How can it be IP though? If there are 11 players on the field then by definition it's not IP right? Unless he didn't check at the numbers but, unless I'm reading wrong, he came from the direction of the huddle. As long as the formation is correct then there wouldn't be a problem as long as the player left the field and didn't come back right?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2008, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgang70
If that's the case then the player wouldn't have turned upfield for the play. USC, blow it dead. Don't allow this play to develop.
But you don't see the player turn upfield until the ball is in play. I take your answer to mean, yes, you are empowered to blow it dead after the play begins.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2008, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
I doubt that. The player could still be ostensibly exiting, moving toward the sideline, as the ball is snapped, probably not turning upfield until after the snap. Are you allowed to kill the play at that time?

I've been on the sideline enough to know that the coaching staff can all be mistaken and pull one of 11 off the field.

Robert
Bob, stick with the play description... the original posted stated something like "do you let the kid run to the EZ after a mysterious catch" .
You know he had to have turn up-field at the snap. This cannot be permitted, the play is to be killed.
For all practical purposes, it was killed at the snap, even though it might have been a second or two delay to as you point out to be sure he was not just running off the field.

You'lll not see this linf of play at the Varsity level nor JV level, but you can almost count on it at the Pop-Warner / Youth Football level because of the type of coaches they have. They just don't know nor understand the rules of the game as they dream up these trick plays.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2008, 06:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
As soon as the coach uses those words, he has stepped over the line.

Classic example of CB 9.9.3.Sit-B

Kill this play IMMEDIATELY and hit for 15 yards.
USC if we realize this before the play. IP if we talk about it after the fact. Either way we're taking 15 yards from the previous spot.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2008, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
USC if we realize this before the play. IP if we talk about it after the fact. Either way we're taking 15 yards from the previous spot.
Wait a minute. IP and USC are not the same, and should never be treated as such.

Yes you can have IP for a "pretend substitute"
and you can have USC for an unfair act

Keep in mind that IP is a 15 yard replay the down and we move on
USC is 15 yards, replay the down, and one more the coach is gone! (cause the coach is getting this one for teaching it IMHO)

What message do you want to send?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1