The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 06:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 82
Block

Free kick from the K40 yard line. While ball is in the air, R56 blocks K42 below the waist at R's 30 yard line. R5 then catches the deep kick at the 5 yard line and advances the ball nearly 20 yards to the 24 yard line.
Can K accept the foul for blocking below the waist and re-kick from the 45 yard line?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 07:08am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands
Free kick from the K40 yard line. While ball is in the air, R56 blocks K42 below the waist at R's 30 yard line. R5 then catches the deep kick at the 5 yard line and advances the ball nearly 20 yards to the 24 yard line.

Can K accept the foul for blocking below the waist and re-kick from the 45 yard line?
CANADIAN RULING:

Block below the waist penalized from the Point of Possession (which is here).

Results: Team B 1D/10 @ B-2½. No option to re-kick.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 07:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 82
Are Canada rules the same as US high School in this situation?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 08:07am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands
Are Canada rules the same as US high School in this situation?
Probably not.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW OH
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands
Free kick from the K40 yard line. While ball is in the air, R56 blocks K42 below the waist at R's 30 yard line. R5 then catches the deep kick at the 5 yard line and advances the ball nearly 20 yards to the 24 yard line.
Can K accept the foul for blocking below the waist and re-kick from the 45 yard line?
I'm a 1st year, but I'll give it a shot...

PSK foul and based on 10-5-3 the spot is where the PSK ends (or if behind the PSK spot it's a spot foul).

I'm sure that if I'm wrong others will correct me and give you the right answer.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdoug
I'm a 1st year, but I'll give it a shot...

PSK foul and based on 10-5-3 the spot is where the PSK ends (or if behind the PSK spot it's a spot foul).

I'm sure that if I'm wrong others will correct me and give you the right answer.
Good try and you would be correct if this was a scrimmage kick situation. This is a free kick and we don't have the luxury of marking off penalties against R from the end of the kick. This foul occurred during a loose-ball so let's go from there and see what answer you have now.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW OH
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrenkicker
Good try and you would be correct if this was a scrimmage kick situation. This is a free kick and we don't have the luxury of marking off penalties against R from the end of the kick. This foul occurred during a loose-ball so let's go from there and see what answer you have now.
Okay, if I could read it'd be helpful. I somehow missed the "Free" part of the "Free Kick."

So, let's try again...loose ball foul, enforced from previous spot, if accepted, and rekick from K30.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Cdoug..
The foul is on team-R.. If team-K wants to accept and rekick, it will not be from the K30 yard line.
The penalty for a BBW is 15 yards, so team-K would be teeing it up now from the R45 yardline.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
So, the answer to the OP is: yes.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block on Try / FG ljudge Football 20 Fri Sep 02, 2005 09:56am
Block or not? Sven Basketball 4 Sat Mar 19, 2005 11:17pm
difference between cut block and chop block ase Football 7 Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:23am
PC or Block RecRef Basketball 3 Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:31am
PC or Block ScottParks Basketball 24 Mon Nov 12, 2001 04:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1