The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 20, 2008, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdoug
Probably should have said this in the OP, sorry.

The play I was thinking of the receiver was in the air drifting toward the sideline. He may have come down IB but was hit and ended up OOB. I know it's a HTBT but was just thinking about technically, according to the rules.

Thanks for all the replies.
If he only "may" have come down in bounds, call it incomplete. This rule is only for when you're sure he would have come down in bounds. The idea is not to give any advantage to the receiver, but rather to keep the defender from carrying an airborne receive out of bounds for a cheap incompletion.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 8-7-C (ASA) Clarification kyleflan Softball 21 Mon Apr 21, 2008 12:49pm
Rule clarification snow54 Basketball 5 Tue Sep 12, 2006 06:10am
Rule Clarification BigToe Basketball 5 Wed Nov 16, 2005 06:21pm
ASA rule clarification pi010 Softball 4 Mon May 16, 2005 10:37am
rule clarification knightsfan74 Basketball 8 Sat Jan 17, 2004 11:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1