![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In Possession ARTICLE 5. “In possession’’ is an abbreviation meaning the holding or controlling of a live ball or a ball to be free-kicked. a. A player “gains possession’’ when he is firmly holding or controlling the ball while contacting the ground inbounds. b. A team is “in possession’’ when one of its players is “in possession’’ or attempting a punt, drop kick or place kick; while a forward pass thrown by one of its players is in flight; or one of its players was last in possession during a loose ball. By these definitions Team A does not meet any of these requirements. Team B was the team that fumbled it and that meets the requirements of "b". To show support for PSK we can look at a similar play. Team A 2nd and 10 from the B-30 throws a legal forward pass that is caught by A80 on the B-4 where he fumbles and the ball goes forward and out of the back of the end zone. During the pass, B90 roughed the passer. Ruling: A's ball 1st and Goal at the B-2. Had there been a change of possesion then the enforcement would have been from the previous spot. Since there was not a change of possession in this play then the same can be said for the original play regarding PSK. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test | ljudge | Football | 2 | Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am |